Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

First We Were IV Review-We Need To Think This Through…

A group of friends start a secret society in this out-of-control thriller from the author of The Telling and The Creeping that examines the all-consuming love of lifelong friendship—and what someone is capable of when they’re afraid of losing it.

Izzie loves nothing more than her three best friends, Viv, Graham, and Harry, and the bond the four of them share. And she’s terrified of their friendship falling apart next year when they go off to college. To bind them together, she decides to create that will belong only to them, a special thing that they’ll always share between the four of them. And so they dream up the Order of IV, a secret society devoted to mischief that rights wrongs and pays back debts. At first, it works like a charm—but when the Order of IV’s escapades get recognition beyond their wildest expectations, other people start wanting in. And soon, what started as a game of friendship is spiraling into something dangerous and beyond their control—and before it’s over, they’ll pay the ultimate sacrifice.

Order at Barnes and Nobles, the Book Depository and Amazon!


*I got this from a blog tour thing, so thank you for this chance! It doesn’t change my opinions at all.*

Uhhh sometimes you get caught up in the ‘why’ of books and I think that realization really kills your enjoyment of a book. For me, this realization WOULD NOT go away so I had several, rather large, dislikes of the story and the characters.

I was really excited for First We Were IV, like SUPER excited. The cover was pretty, the summary made it sound like an awesome, thrilling, mysterious kind of book. Did we get that? Uh…

Trigger Warning: animal cruelty

What I Like

-In the beginning I really did enjoy all of the main characters. They had their own stories, their own personalities and styles. They had a story with each other before First We Were IV even began which gave them a nice history and made them feel realistic. But as the chapters continued I found myself, personally, liking them less.

What I Didn’t Like

-I would like to start this section with there is animal cruelty. This next sentence is going to contain very minor spoilers just so I can give you some examples, none of these scenes were graphic but they were kind of disturbing. *Spoilers* There is a scene where a character describes a story where these cows were slaughtered terribly in a slaughterhouse incident gone wrong. There’s another scene where they kill a live pigeon with a pin and there’s a lot of blood. There’s another scene where they kill a goat and hang it up to prove a point, the next day a bunny is hanging up at their school as well. *END SPOILERS* so if you’re not okay with reading about animal cruelty I would suggest skipping over this one.

-Like I mentioned, before I started my review I got really caught up in the ‘why’ of this book. I could NOT imagine teenagers, however bored, sticking with the rules of a secret society. This part is a SPOILER, so highlight if you want to read what I’m talking about~~~~they filmed videos talking about their ‘pranks’ as the IV, it would be easy evidence if they ever got caught (not going to spoil it that much ;)). I think most teenagers would think that wouldn’t be a good idea because anyone could get a hold of those videos ON THEIR PHONES. The main characters also seem to be people who don’t care about the consequences of their actions, which also bothered me A LOT (but this is also a personal opinion!). I felt like they were selfish and they wanted just THEMSELVES to be happy, forget other people. But like I mentioned, that’s just an opinion. 

-As for the plot, I didn’t really enjoy it either. The whole book felt slow to me and when things did happen it felt kind of jumbled(?). There were multiple plot points in First We Were IV, but it felt like it focused too much on one compared to the other.

Overall

-First We Were IV was a very disappointing read for me. There was a lot of animal cruelty, the story had too much going on for me and I didn’t like the characters. In the beginning, I did highly enjoy it but my desire to finish it quickly fell.

1/5

2 thoughts on “First We Were IV Review-We Need To Think This Through…

  1. Too bad you didn’t enjoy this one. The premise sounded really interesting, so I’m sad to hear you didn’t enjoy it. I was looking forward to this one, but I’m going to have to pass on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

