Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Letters to the Lost (Where Are My TISSUES?) Mini Review

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles or the Book Depository!

At first I had no intention of reading Letters to the Lost, mostly because it was contemporary and I wasn’t in the mood to read it. Also, because I had no idea what it was about and I’m a weird person who almost ALWAYS hates reading a summary. In the end, I’m glad I did.

Letters to the Lost was a heart touching book full of emotions or, as some like to call it, feels.

If you’re looking for a book with rainbows, butterflies and happy laughs you won’t be getting that with this one. While it didn’t make me cry, it left me with some emotions. It also left me thinking every time I set down the book. I had to know what would happen next, I also thought over what the characters were talking about in their deep, emotional letters to one another and who was to blame for their own losses. These feelings and afterthoughts made me want more of Letters to the Lost and it holds a special place in my heart for now.

It’s been a while since a book has left an impact on me and this is one of those books.

Another thing I loved about Letters to the Lost was the characters. They all changed from the beginning to become new and maybe more daring than they once were. Declan, Juliet and Rev all had their own clearly defined pasts. They were special and also hold a special place in my heart as well.

Overall I have nothing negative to say about Letters to the Lost. It left me thinking, it left me emotional and it was definitely a good story.

4/5

Leave a Reply

