Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Love Interest Mini Review

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: the boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: the brooding, dark-souled guy who is dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose the Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be—whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Buy from Amazon, Barnes and Nobles or the Book Depository!

I was super excited to see a book come out like The Love Interest, it sounded like something I would definitely love and, honestly, I kind of did love it.

What I Liked

-One of the things I loved most about The Love Interest was how it used a common theme in YA (one I have grown to hate xD) and added a lovely twist to it. The common theme is a love triangle between some new mysterious tough guy with a tragic past and the longtime best guy friend who is super nice to the main character girl.

*Let me just add a side note here, hating that love triangle is my opinion, if you love it awesome 🙂 I just can’t stand it when I see that’s the main theme behind a story, I want something different.*

Now back to The Love Interest, it was a genius idea taking something so common and adding a twist. I loved it, so, so, so much. I wish I thought of it because it was done SO PERFECTLY with the division between the Nice guys and the Bad guys. They trained their whole lives for the parts they were given and they did so by changing their appearances, listening to certain music and reading scripts. They even made their eyes SKY BLUE, another common eye color in YA. It was amazing, really, the only thing that bothered me was how manipulative the whole project seemed but that’s nothing against the story itself.

For the first time in, well, EVER there were a few twists I didn’t see coming. When there’s a twist I 99% of the time guess it at the beginning, however that wasn’t the case with The Love Interest. I slapped myself mentally for not guessing it because the signs were obvious looking back, but it was still a rather nice change 🙂

What I Didn’t Like

-Not much that I can think of. I think it dragged on a bit and was missing something but it was good all the same.

Overall

-If you want a twist on that common bad guy-good guy love triangle The Love Interest is the book for you. I loved the characters and how the story added to the YA category of books 🙂

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

