Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Sandcastle Empire DNF Review

When all hope is gone, how do you survive?

Before the war, Eden’s life was easy—air conditioning, ice cream, long days at the beach. Then the revolution happened, and everything changed.

Now a powerful group called the Wolfpack controls the earth and its resources. Eden has lost everything to them. They killed her family and her friends, destroyed her home, and imprisoned her. But Eden refuses to die by their hands. She knows the coordinates to the only neutral ground left in the world, a place called Sanctuary Island, and she is desperate to escape to its shores.

Eden finally reaches the island and meets others resistant to the Wolves—but the solace is short-lived when one of Eden’s new friends goes missing. Braving the jungle in search of their lost ally, they quickly discover Sanctuary is filled with lethal traps and an enemy they never expected.

This island might be deadlier than the world Eden left behind, but surviving it is the only thing that stands between her and freedom.

Buy from Amazon, Barnes & Nobles or The Book Depository!

*I traded for this arc with another one (I can’t remember which book xP) I’m not sure if I’m supposed to add that or not…

If I had to compare this book to another, I would say it’s like the Maze Runner. It doesn’t really have that much of a similar story but I imagined the land to be very green which I imagined the Maze Runner to look like. Is that a weird thought? Did anyone else get the Maze Runner vibes?

Like most books I read, I wasn’t sure what to expect when starting The Sandcastle Empire. It was one of Brianna’s books she didn’t get around to reading so I decided to pick it up. So I had no expectations at all when it came to The Sandcastle Empire and still I can’t help but find myself feeling a bit disappointed.

The beginning of The Sandcastle Empire was highly intense and captivating, probably one of the best openings I have read in quite a while. It had me questioning what happened to get them where they were. There was flashbacks woven into the present story creating a background for the main character which included hints as to what happened. I loved how it was woven into the story, I thought it was so well done and it didn’t throw the reader into too many flashbacks which would have taken away from the story.

I also found myself enjoying the writing, the author uses such pretty words throughout the story like “soft summer nights,” and “infinite sea of stars” of course these words could be changed in the final version, I just love pretty language.

The characters were also well done, each had their own personalities that I found myself liking. They all had their own strengths, weaknesses and pasts. I liked Hope a lot because she reminded me of Mercy from Overwatch for some reason. The setting was also a nice change from the usual city or town, an island was a nice change.

Unfortunately that’s where my likes end and my dislikes come in.

There were so many interesting questions I wanted to be answered, and they were, don’t get me wrong. But the answers weren’t really anything I was looking for, they felt too ‘out there’ for me. Plus some of the explanations I didn’t care for or couldn’t understand.

About halfway through The Sandcastle Empire I started to lose interest sadly. The intense, mysterious book began to lose its style for me and began to drag on page after page. There were twists that I saw coming, every single one (unless there was something in the last 20% I gave up 81% through the book). So there were no surprises from me just eye rolls and long sighs because I was expecting something good after the pretty amazing opening. I kept hanging on with each page, just barely, in hopes that it would pick up. Eventually I just gave up…

Sadly, The Sandcastle Empire didn’t leave me entertained after that pretty great beginning. For some reason I began to lose interest, I hoped it got better but it just didn’t for me. It also reminded me of the Maze Runner and there were a lot of twists I saw coming.

3/5

DNF 81%

One thought on “The Sandcastle Empire DNF Review

Leave a Reply

