Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Violet Grenade Mini Review- It Was Explosive

Domino: A runaway with blood on her hands.

Cain: A silent boy about to explode.

Madam Karina: A woman who demands obedience.

Wilson: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position at her girls’ home in secluded West Texas. With no alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval…and falling for Cain, the mysterious boy living in the basement.

But the madam has horrible secrets. So do the girls in the house. So does Cain.

Escaping is harder than Domino expects, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the danger living inside Domino’s mind.

Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

TW: Contains a minor SPOILER *there is an attentive rape in the book.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started Violet Grenade, it sounded intense, the title was intense but that was all I really knew…

What I Liked

-This is one of those books where it’s hard to sum up why I liked it. I’m not sure why I gave it a 3/5 when it wasn’t my favorite, a 4 doesn’t feel right and neither does a 2. I liked the overall story of Violet Grenade, it’s just hard to sum it up without adding spoilers. I think the story was good, I found it a little unbelievable but not everything has to be realistic.

What I Didn’t Like

-I’m not sure how to feel about Wilson. He doesn’t have that big of a part in the story but when he came in I was iffy on the whole thing.

-The whole book was intense but there was a certain pretty violent portion that really had me shocked because, in comparison, the rest of the book was pretty tame. It’s probably one of the more graphic/violent scenes I have come across in YA books.

Overall

-Violet Grenade was one of the more intense and semi violent YA stories I have read in quite a while. I enjoyed the thrilling aspect but other parts fell flat for me. I also kept waiting for there to be a supernatural/paranormal element (for some reason) which didn’t happen.

3/5

Leave a Reply

