Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Follow Me Back (No Thanks) Review

follow-me-back-featured

 

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts. 

add to goodreads

Buy this on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or The Book Depository!

I got this book from Netgally for free for a review (which does not impact my opinions), thank you Netgalley and Sourcebooks Fire for this opportunity!

What I Liked

-One of my favorite things about Follow Me Back was the writing. I LOVED it and was drawn in by the suspenseful, mysterious police transcripts. There are hints as to what happens later down the road, enough to keep you guessing and enjoying it at the same time. Usually I guess plot twists but not with Follow Me Back which was new (and mostly good, just see below for what I mean with these twists). It’s also the first book I read that had police transcripts, Tweets and DMs. If you don’t know a few things about Twitter it might be hard to follow (just a side note!)

-I really liked all the main characters for most of the story. I liked Tessa, she has agoraphobia so I can’t speak to how accurate her feelings are. Eric Thorn was probably my least favorite character because he was such a jerk towards his fans and hated them all. Sure he had a reason to be scared but that doesn’t mean all his fangirls were trash.

What I Didn’t Like

-There was a certain plot twist that I didn’t see coming that really hit me hard. Nothing led up to that moment, there was never a hint for that. I can see that now after finishing the book because that scene was not needed. I was so upset that it went down from 4/5 to 3/5 and almost fell to a 2/5. It was too out there for me to actually like the ending. I was really disappointed I spent all that time reading it only to find out that ending. But I talked to someone else and the ending might not be what I thought it was…

Overall

-Follow Me Back as a mostly thrilling YA story with a disappointing, out of thin air ending.

3/5

9 thoughts on “Follow Me Back (No Thanks) Review

  1. Absolutely agreed. I found the book quite interesting at first, but the ending threw me. I also thought that at the beginning the representation of agoraphobia was okay (I have mild agoraphobia) but it was soon thrown out the window in a way that I found quite upsetting. I won’t say any more because I realise that this is a spoiler-free review, but I’ve written a review on my blog if you’d be interested in reading it.

    Like

  2. I like the idea of this book because of the experimental writing style. I don’t know what the ending is, but I think if you don’t like it, it might annoy me too!

    Like

  3. Dang, I am reading this one right now. I hate it when a plot twist comes out of nowhere and makes absolutely no sense. I’m only about a quarter of the way through the book right now, so I guess it won’t come for a while. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

  4. Yikes, that out-of-thin-air ending makes me nervous. I got this one for review as well, so I will probably be starting it soon, but I’m relieved that, aside from that major downer, you seemed to enjoy the majority of the novel. I love books with mixed media, and I am really interested in these mysterious police reports. Thanks for the wonderful review!
    ~ Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

    Like

    1. Hopefully you like it better than I did 🙂 mixed media books are sooooo cool, I haven’t read many books that include text messages and police reports so it was a nice change! Thank you for the comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

