Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Hellcat Vol. 1 Mini Review

Patsy Walker has managed to escape her past, her enemies and Hell itself (literally) — but nothing compares to job hunting in New York City! Between trying to make rent and dodging bullets, she barely has time to deal with her mother’s exploitative romance comics about Patsy’s past resurfacing, much less how they start to interfere with her work and dating life. As she goes from living a double life to living a triple one, what the Hell is Patsy supposed to do? There’ll be burgers, monsters and rent checks; old friends like Howard the Duck and Valkyrie; and a ghost from the past with questionable motives! Comics’ most flexible heroine has been a provisional Avenger, a Defender, Satan’s daughter-in-law and a dead woman — but she’s never been anything like this!

Originally I wasn’t planning on reading Hellcat, it looked too cute and I had no idea what/who she was. But I saw it was free on Prime Reading so I decided to give it a try and I’m glad I did.

What I Liked

-Hellcat was a super cute, very colorful comic that I found myself enjoying from the first page to the last. Patsy is a likable character who quickly made her way to being one of my top favorite superheros along with Spider Gwen. She’s funny, carries hope in others (even villains) I love her faith in others and she’s just a cool character. I loved the art also, like I said it’s colorful and I liked the style of art as well. I think the colors added to the overall feel of the comic.

-The story I also enjoyed. There were so many moments of awesome friendship, and there were quite a few other superheros who showed up in it as well. Like America Chavez (who is also one of my favorites) and She Hulk (who seems to be pretty cool as well). I feel like a lot of books and comic skip over the friendship part and mainly focus on love instead but Hellcat didn’t do that, which I appreciated. Not everyone has to be in a relationship.

What I Didn’t Like

-Nothing that I can think of.

Overall

-Hellcat was a super cute comic that instantly made me want to read more. I loved the art and the colors as well as the other superhero appearances. If you’re looking for a light-hearted Marvel comic this one is perfect.

5/5

Leave a Reply

