Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Amina’s Voice Mini Review-Sing it Girl!

A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family’s vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade novel from the award-winning author of It’s Ramadan, Curious George and Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns.

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.” Does Amina need to start changing too? Or hiding who she is to fit in? While Amina grapples with these questions, she is devastated when her local mosque is vandalized.

Amina’s Voice brings to life the joys and challenges of a young Pakistani American and highlights the many ways in which one girl’s voice can help bring a diverse community together to love and support each other.

Buy it on Amazon, Barnes & Nobles or The Book Depository!


Originally I wasn’t planning to read Amina’s Voice just because I had no idea what it was about and it was a middle grade book, a type of book I haven’t read in years. However, I’m glad I decided to read this one because Amina’s Voice was an amazing middle grade that people of all ages could love and enjoy.

The writing was what really drew me in to the story. The characters seemed like middle schoolers and their problems brought me back to that strange transition between elementary school and high school. A time where friends might leave you, drama begins to happen and you get all nervous moving to a non-elementary school. Amina was like a middle school student, talking to her friends about Adele’s amazing voice and Shrek. I loved her as a character just as I loved the other ones.

I think the story was also something that people could get emotionally invested in. I found that I was nervous for Amina in certain situations, or happy for her, in others I felt sad for her. Her story is an emotional roller-coaster that never leaves you bored. If I had to complain about one thing -oh wait- I wouldn’t because it was just that good.

In the end, I really wanted more of Amina’s Voice, or at least a second book. The writing, the characters, the stories and the character growth is something that I love. Something that I would love more of! Plus it’s an amazing book as well as a quick read.

4/5

One thought on “Amina’s Voice Mini Review-Sing it Girl!

Leave a Reply

