Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Queens of Geek Review-Convention Fun!

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

You can buy it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and The Book Depository!


If I were to say one thing about Queens of Geek, I’d say ‘disappointing.’ After seeing so many glowing reviews, I had high expectations that this book sadly didn’t deliver on. So, in the end I think it’s because I had high hopes which rarely turns out to be a good thing.

What I Liked

-There wasn’t much I enjoyed about Queens of Geek. I loved the cute cover, it really draws my eye and that pink color is so pretty. I wish I could dye my hair that color! What I enjoyed most about this book wasn’t the story or the characters (who I couldn’t connect with), I loved the setting (which is rare favorite thing for me). You really get that hyped up, awesome feeling of going to a convention. You feel like you’re there with the characters waiting in line for a book signing or at a panel. While it wasn’t my favorite book, I did like how well Jen Wilde created something that seemed so real.

-When I say I didn’t connect with the characters that doesn’t mean I don’t respect them. I can see a lot of people liking them and connecting with who they are. A bisexual youtube famous(ish) MC girl and one who has anxiety. They’re realistic, I just couldn’t get into their story.

What I Didn’t Like

-The writing and the plot really bored me. I found myself skimming after a while and by the end I just couldn’t wait for it to be over. Nothing really seemed to happen but I don’t think the plot was really the focus. I think Queens of Geek focused on character development and how they discovered who they are (which I can respect). In the end, my hopes were too high and this one just didn’t deliver for me.

Overall

-While I didn’t enjoy Queens of Geek I still highly recommend it. I think a lot of people can connect with the characters who feel like their awkward geeks who don’t fit in unless they are at a convention scene. I also believe that a lot of people will love the setting of Queens of Geek, as I did. Being a geek is okay, being yourself is awesome and that’s what Queens of Geek really seemed to be about.

-And I am the minority when it comes to this book, most people LOVED it, so don’t let my review stop you from reading it. It get’s almost a full five stars on Goodreads which is rare!

Now here’s a batman gif

2/5

 

Leave a Reply

