Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Hold Back The Stars Review-More Like Hold Back The Tears

A startling and evocative novel, harkening to both One Day and Gravity, a man and a woman revisit memories of their love affair on a utopian Earth while they are trapped in the vast void of space with only ninety minutes of oxygen left.

After the catastrophic destruction of the Middle East and the United States, Europe has become a utopia and, every three years, the European population must rotate into different multicultural communities, living as individuals responsible for their own actions. While living in this paradise, Max meets Carys and immediately feels a spark of attraction. He quickly realizes, however, that Carys is someone he might want to stay with long-term, which is impossible in this new world.

As their relationship plays out, the connections between their time on Earth and their present dilemma in space become clear. When their air ticks dangerously low, one is offered the chance of salvation—but who will take it? An original and daring exploration of the impact of first love and how the choices we make can change the fate of everyone around us, this is an unforgettable read.

You can order/preorder (depending on the format) on Barnes & Noble, the Book Depository, and Amazon.


*I received a sort of/kind of(?) eArc of this book from Netgalley so thank you to the publisher for this chance! It doesn’t change my opinions at all

*I say sort of because it’s already out through one publisher but it’s not out through this one xD)

What I Liked

-From the very beginning Hold Back The Stars was a thrilling, somewhat stressful adventure. It has been quite a while since I felt so strongly about a book as I did for Hold Back The Stars. My heart was pounding, my hands were sweating, I just wanted the main characters to be okay. As the story progressed, my emotions didn’t go away, they stayed with me until the very last page. Hold Back The Stars is an emotional adventure that had me stressed out and, at some points, almost in tears.

-I highly enjoyed the story of Hold Back The Stars, it was unlike anything I have ever read in a while (well, I don’t often read science fiction for some reason). But the main characters are trapped in a void with only 90 minutes of oxygen? YES, THIS WAS A BOOK I HAD TO READ. And I’m glad I did. The story skips back and forth from them in space to their lives on Earth. There are questions and mysteries that go unanswered until the very last few pages. And life on Earth is also equally as unique, the people live in one area for a year and change it up so they don’t form enemies or relationships until they’re old enough. Now that was very interesting to me!

What I Didn’t Like

-While I did love the story there were some parts that felt slow or unnecessary. I was so bored at some points that I just began skimming. Sometimes their past memories were boring as well. The only consistently interesting part was when they were in space, this is why I only give it a 3/5 instead of a 4/5.

Overall

-Grab some tissues and take a nice hot bath because this book is one stressful (in a good way) and an emotional ride. The story is unique and interesting with only a few parts here and there that were uninteresting or didn’t hold my attention. Overall, Hold Back The Stars is a enjoyable book!

3/5

One thought on “Hold Back The Stars Review-More Like Hold Back The Tears

Leave a Reply

