Memes

Currently Reading Reactions #7

Wow we have NOT done this in a while so we’re back with another Currently Reading Reactions where we talk a little bit about the books we’re reading and sum up our feelings with a GIF or two.

Angelina’s currently reading…

Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan

 

Carys and Max have ninety minutes of air left.
None of this was supposed to happen.
But perhaps this doesn’t need to be the end…

Adrift in space with nothing to hold on to but each other, Carys and Max can’t help but look back at the well-ordered world they have left behind – at the rules they couldn’t reconcile themselves to, and a life to which they might now never return.
For in a world where love is banned, what happens when you find it?

I don’t think I’ve ever read SUCH an intense, stressful book. I’m only about 32% done with Hold Back the Stars but I’m really enjoying it. The world is pretty unique, I don’t think I’ve read anything quite like it.

If you want a piece of the stressful but pretty good book then you can order/preorder (depending on the format) on Barnes & Noble, the Book Depository, and Amazon.


Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

I know I’ve used this gif once before but it’s too funny not to use xD

I’ve only read 10% of Queens of Geek as of right now but I do like it. It’s not my favorite, however I’m still enjoying it. It makes me excited to go to another convention, hopefully soon xD!

If you’re looking for a convention themed book you can buy it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and The Book Depository!


Brianna is currently reading…

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral.

Her show is a modern adaptation of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the forty thousand new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr GIFs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever.

And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with Thom Causer, a fellow award nominee, suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual.

Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do?

I JUST finished The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue so I’m not too far in Tash Hearts Tolstoy yet. I’m on chapter two, and I can already tell I’m going to LOVE it! Tash’s voice is so amazing, I already adore her personality and can’t wait to see where this book is going. The writing is so good so far!

This gif sums up exactly how I’m feeling about Tash Hearts Tolstoy so far. I have a feeling it’s going to be one of this books you read in one sitting :D!

If you want to buy it, here are the Amazon, Barnes & Noble and The Book Depository links!

What book/s are YOU currently reading? How are they so far? Have you read any of these books we mentioned? We would love to hear from you 🙂

4 thoughts on “Currently Reading Reactions #7

  1. I’m currently reading Queens of Geek to! I’m really liking it!
    And I’m dying to read Tash Hearts Tolstoy- because ace representation! (emailed the publisher to try and get an arc, but it looks like I have to wait until release day). Glad to know its well written!

    Like

    1. Angelina just finished Queens of Geek yesterday :D! I’m glad you like it so much. I’m sorry you couldn’t get a copy 😦 When I emailed them, they only had a few eARCs left so I was lucky. They went fast it seems. I’m ace too 😀 and my goodness, so far, I feel like I can really relate to Tash. I hope you enjoy it when it’s out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such a cute post! I might do this in the future. I’m currently starting Want (which I know, I’m reading way to early but I’m too excited!) and just finished Coming Up for Air by Miranda Kenneally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

