Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Goodbye Days Review – I’m Not Crying, YOU’RE CRYING

I received an eARC of this book from NetGalley, this does not change my review at all.

5/5 stars

summary from goodreads

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths.

Then Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to remember her grandson with a ‘goodbye day’ together. Carver has his misgivings, but he starts to help the families of his lost friends grieve with their own memorial days, along with Eli’s bereaved girlfriend Jesmyn. But not everyone is willing to forgive. Carver’s own despair and guilt threatens to pull him under into panic and anxiety as he faces punishment for his terrible mistake. Can the goodbye days really help?

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that made me want to cry as much as Goodbye Days. I’m not kidding. This book was sad from the beginning, but I mean, it is a sad topic. The main character’s friends all die in a car crash because he texted them, that’s enough to make anyone sad. Just read the goodreads synopsis and tell me that doesn’t make you sad 😥 This book is not very happy, so bring tissues if you’re planning on reading it.

I think what made this book even sadder, was how real the characters all felt. Jeff Zentner was able to create well developed characters who all reacted in realistic ways to the accident. They felt so real, it was hard not to feel their feelings and understand how they were feeling and I want to cry just thinking about them all. Jeff Zentner is a really good writer 😥 I think I need a tissue.

I loved how he added flash back memories. I mean, come on, do I need to cry even more? I could really feel their friendship as I read, it felt so real…

The idea of goodbye days was really unique… I don’t want to say too much about them but… I like the idea a lot and maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan did they make me want to cry ALL the time.

Basically, this book made me super sad, it made me cry, and at times, it made me smile… And I know this review is really short but I don’t have much to say other than one 1. READ THIS WITH TISSUES NEARBY and 2. THIS BOOK MADE ME CRY, FELT SUPER REALISTIC, AND WAS REALLY REALLY REALLLLYYYYY WELL DONE!

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Days Review – I’m Not Crying, YOU’RE CRYING

      1. Maybe I’m just a robot without feelings. I don’t get it, I usually cry quite easily, but this book just didn’t do it. Weird. Going outside after crying is so awkward, if that happens I’m always so scared my face is all red and people will see and awh so awkward 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

