Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Rose Petal Graves Review

rose-petal-graves-featured

 

ANCIENT SECRETS CANNOT REMAIN BURIED FOREVER.

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken. -Goodreads.com

3/5

*I got this book free from Netgalley for a review (which does NOT change my feelings at all towards this book) Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for this opportunity!*

I had high hopes for Rose Petal Graves after seeing one of my friends love it so much. The next day I requested it and started reading it (it only took me two days to read!) but sadly I found myself disappointed. Maybe it was because I did have high hopes, but anyways, here is my review!

What I Liked

-This book takes place in Michigan. Yup, you heard that right. I was SUPER excited to see that this is in Michigan. There were places I recognized while reading, rarely does a book take place where I live so that was cool.

batman-gif

– I LOVED the idea of this book with Fae and ancestors rising from the dead. Yes, please. How cool does that sound? I’m always here for more paranormal stories with supernatural elements, so sign me up. I don’t think there’s a lot of paranormal books being published these days, or I can’t think of any off the top of my mind.

-If you can connect with this book, the story or the characters, I can see it being a very emotional roller coaster ride. Rose Petal Graves wasn’t my favorite and it didn’t blow me out of the water but there were quite a few moments where I found myself feeling sad. It would definitely be amplified if you connected more with it than I did! The ending was my favorite part of the book because of the emotions.

What I Didn’t Like

-As much as I wanted to love this book, I couldn’t bring myself to like it. I kept feeling bored and kept wanting to do other things. Sadly, my Netgalley rating is getting relatively low (78% xD) so I’ve been focusing on reading those books. I just didn’t connect with the characters, they felt one dimensional to me, flat. They all felt the same to me and I didn’t really care for any of them either. At first that didn’t bother me but by the time I was 70% done it began to bother me.

-While I love the idea of Rose Petal Graves, there was a lot of info dumping and little description. Every chapter seemed to be filled with dialogue, once I noticed that I couldn’t stop noticing it which took me away from the story. Even though Rose Petal Graves took place in the real world, I wished there were more descriptions to help sell that.

-Going after that last part, I felt like there was no story, there was no action. By the end of Rose Petal Graves, I found myself asking what the point of it was.

Overall

-I think if you can connect with the characters or the story you will find yourself LOVING this book. Rose Petal Graves had some emotional moments that could definitely pull at your heart strings. I would still give this one a try because it takes place in Michigan AND is a unique idea!

Leave a Reply

