Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Confessions of a High School Disaster Review

confessions-of-a-high-school-disaster-featured

Summary from goodreads.com

In the tradition of Bridget Jones’s Diary, a lovably flawed high school student chronicles her life as she navigates the highs and lows of family, friendship, school, and love in a diary that sparkles with humor and warmth.

I’m Chloe Snow, and my life is kiiiiind of a disaster.

1. I’m a kissing virgin (so so so embarrassing).
2. My best friend, Hannah, is driving me insane.
3. I think I’m in love with Mac Brody, senior football star, whose girlfriend is so beautiful she doesn’t even need eyeliner.
4. My dad won’t stop asking me if I’m okay.
5. Oh, and my mom moved to Mexico to work on her novel. But it’s fine—she’ll be back soon. She said so.

Mom says the only thing sadder than remembering is forgetting, so I’m going to write down everything that happens to me in this diary. That way, even when I’m ninety, I’ll remember how awkward and horrible and exciting it is to be in high school.

add to goodreads

*I was sent a finished copy for a review, this doesn’t change my views at all! But thank you Simon and Schuster!

4/5

What I Liked

-I’ve never read a journal type book before because I never thought I would enjoy them. But when I began reading Confessions of a High School Disaster, I found that I really enjoyed the main character’s voice. Chloe can be kind of rude sometimes but she’s also funny. I found myself laughing at some of the things she wrote in her diary, like how her dog farts on her when he sleeps in her bed. I think its been a while since I read a book with a character as strong and as real as Chloe. I found myself rooting for her, feeling sad for her and feeling happy for her while reading.

-I loved Chloe but I also loved all the other characters. They seemed real themselves, even if I didn’t get much of a connection with the other characters. Which makes sense because it’s Chloe journal so it’s how she sees life and not a complete background for every character since she already knows them.

-High school is about change and that’s what Confessions of a High School Disaster shows. None of the characters remain the same as they did in the beginning. They learn from their mistakes and develop as the story goes. Friendships grow stronger or fade away which adds to the change. I think that was my favorite part of the whole thing, seeing how different each of the characters were by the end.

What I Didn’t Like

-Nothing really.

Overall

-Confessions of a High School Disaster was a great read that I would recommend to high school, or middle school students. The characters change as they progress through their freshman year and the main character, Chloe had a voice that stood out.

4/5

Leave a Reply

