Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Education of Margot Sanchez Mini Review -AMAZING!

I just want to say thank you to Simon and Schuster for the surprise book mail 🙂 this does not change my review of this book, but it was definitely a book I was super excited to read!

As a side note, I sometimes have a hard time reviewing contemporary because I don’t know what to say about them, but I’ll do my best to give a in depth review!

education-of-margo-sanchez-collage

Summary from goodreads.com

Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

add to goodreads

4/5 stars

  • This book was going to be a 3/5 stars from me, but the ending was so beautiful and hopeful, and real, that it made me fall so much more in love with this book. I wont spoil it for you 🙂 I just adored the ending to this book, it was full of emotions…
  • I REALLY liked the author, Lilliam Rivera’s writing style, it was lovely and fast paced. The characters felt so real and had their own individual personalities, they had stories that were relatable and UGH it was so amazing. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book with so many unique characters to it (I probably have) BUT I just loved it so so much. The dialogue felt natural and right 🙂
  • The Education of Margot Sanchez dealt with so many realistic topics like privilege, negative influences, drug addictions, and family/friend issues, things teens face (and people in general). Margot, and the other characters involved in this story, deal with these issues throughout the whole entire book and how she/others react to each of the above situations felt natural.
  • It was really easy to fall in love with this book! It took me a while to finish it because I eventually got sick and had to put it down, but I would have read this book in one sitting if I could have. The writing and the characters made it very hard to put down and the topics dealt with in the story made it harder to forget. This book was really memorable, and I adore Margot and Mosies and Elizabeth. I wish we got to see more of Margot and Mosies 🙂 they were super cute together and I just ADORE them.

 Have any of you read this book yet? What did you think of it?

One thought on “The Education of Margot Sanchez Mini Review -AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

