Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Careful Undressing of Love Review – So Many Questions D:

Well, I am incredibly upset. Why did no one think to mention a trigger warning in their reviews? Because this book needs one.

Trigger warning: suicide.

There. Done 😐 I’m just a bit salty right now because of how this book ended, and up until that point it was going to be a 5 star book for me. But since I have issues with the ending to this book my rating has changed.

the-careful-undressing-of-love

Before ending: 5 stars

After ending: 1 star

So I have no idea what to rate this on goodreads D:

Summary from Amazon*

The girls of Devonairre Street have always been told they’re cursed. Any boy they love is certain to die too soon. But this is Brooklyn in 2008, and the curse is less a terror and more a lifestyle accessory—something funky and quaint that makes the girls from the shortest street in Brooklyn special. They wear their hair long and keys around their necks. People give them a second look and whisper “Devonairre” to their friends. But it’s not real. It won’t affect their futures.

Then Jack—their Jack, the one boy everyone loved—dies suddenly and violently. And now the curse seems not only real, but like the only thing that matters. All their bright futures have suddenly gone dark.

The Careful Undressing of Love is a disturbing and sensual story of the power of youth and the boundless mysteries of love set against the backdrop of Haydu’s brilliantly reimagined New York City.

add to goodreads

I decided to use the Amazon summary because it explains it more than the goodreads one.

What I Liked

I love love love love love magical realism, I can’t get enough of it. When I read the synopsis for this book, I knew that I’d adore it because MAGICAL REALISM, the synopsis basically spells out that the girl’s who fall in love are “responsible” for their loved ones death, that sounds like an interesting story, sad but unique. They follow so many strange traditions and precautions to avoid the seemingly inevitable, and the characters deal with everything that happens in a really realistic way. They grapple with the book’s biggest question, is the curse real? while also tackling the issues of privilege, and grief and moving on after something terrible happens. I like books that deal with big issues, and I like it when they handle them well. For the most part, this book handled these issues really well!

Unlike what I’ve been seeing, I really loved the characters in this book. You can easily see how the events that happen throughout the story change them and make their beliefs change. Like I said in the above point, I felt that their reactions were real and their personalities were fully developed.

The writing in this book was also incredible! I loved the detail, the imaginary, how the author managed to create such an interesting, unique story that I LITERALLY read in one sitting. I devoured this book.

I semi like that this book didn’t give all the answers, but I still REALLY want to know if the curse is real or not. Sometimes though, I think not answering these questions isn’t so bad, and I think in the case of this book, the mystery works.

 What I Didn’t Like

While I mostly like this book, there were a lot of problems…

For starters, there was a lot of cheating going on in this book, and it was only female characters who did the cheating. As a side note, maybe it was only female characters who cheated because most (like all but two/threeish) characters were female. But it bugs me D:. What bugs me most is that they brushed it off and acted like their cheating wasn’t that big of a deal when it really is. It isn’t ok to cheat, and they all moved on so fast.

Another thing that bothered me was that, the book synopsis says, “any boy they love is certain to die.” Which makes me think of some big questions D: Why are only the girls cursed, why not the boys? What if one of the girls loves girls, will their love not die? That bothered me a bit… this book kind of made it feel  like love only goes one way. I HATE sex scenes in general, so reading this book made me super uncomfortable because it kept coming up. BUT the story was really interesting and I wanted to see how it ended… and then I read the ending 😐

THE BIGGEST PROBLEM I HAVE WITH THIS BOOK WAS THE ENDING. Hello, that was totally not ok. Also SPOILERS: In the end, the girls wake up one morning and randomly decide that to break the curse, they all (EVERY MAIN CHARACTER (like 4 girls)) need to commit suicide. They’re drunk and they go to kill themselves, one girl does but the others don’t. This happens out of nowhere, they make no mention of mental illness, it’s just random and completely took me off guard. THIS ISN’T OK, not in my opinion. Yes they were suffering, yes they thought that was the only solution but why did the author go with THIS solution? To make matters worse, they glossed over the character’s suicide like it was nothing, the girls moved on from their suicidal thoughts in basically a page.

They also made it seem like if you can’t fall in love, then you’re doomed to a horrible life. It’s fine to live your life without loving someone, you’re not doomed because of that. This is just a personal opinion but I mean 😐 you can live without being in a relationship… but I can see why they’d be upset because they are romantics and want to fall in love but that doesn’t excuse the ending…

Fable’s Final Thoughts

I LOVED this book, it’s magical realism and I literally cannot not love magical realism. I adore that genre, but the ending to this book hit me pretty hard, and in all honesty, the ending was not ok. If you’re fine with an ending like that, go ahead and read this book, but I still have issues with it 😐

One thought on “The Careful Undressing of Love Review – So Many Questions D:

Leave a Reply

