Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Daughter of the Pirate King AaaaarrrrReview

daughter-of-the-pirate-king-featured-image

A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

Debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale. -Goodreads.com

add to goodreads

5/5

*I received this book from Netgalley, thank yoouuuuuu!*

You know, I think this is a first. The Daughter of the Pirate King has me so conflicted on this rating. 4/5 or 5/5? I LOVED it but it wasn’t my favorite but it was still REALLY good.

I enjoyed Daughter of the Pirate King from the very beginning. The action kept up, the wittiness was always present and the events just kept on happening. I think it slowed down a bit near the end but it quickly picked up pace once more. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t stop. I literally read 80% of this book in one day (which is rare for me to do now thanks to college). After that ending, I can NOT wait for book two. I need it right now.

One of my favorite things about Daughter of the Pirate King was the main character. Alosa is highly enjoyable from the beginning. I feel like I rarely say this but her attitude makes the book, I think she is one of my favorite book characters of all time. She is seriously witty, she always has a good snappy comeback. I loved her relationship with Riden, while I don’t ‘ship’ them I do enjoy the banter between one another.

The only thing that felt weird to me was Alosa’s relationship with Riden. He seemed creepily into her since the very beginning. *semi-spoiler* Maybe I’m looking to into it but he seemed kind of clingy to her even though she was his prisoner. *end semi-spoiler*

I also liked the brother relationship between Riden and Draxen. While Draxen was a jerk, I still loved the loyalty between them and the respect they carried for each other. I’m all for family relationships and loyalty.

Anyways, Daughter of the Pirate King is one of my favorite books this year. (I know I already said that about three times already) but these books just keep coming! It’s a fantasy, adventurous ride with pirates. Who doesn’t like pirates?!?!?

pirate

7 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King AaaaarrrrReview

Leave a Reply

