Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Shadowshaper Review

shadowshaper-featured

Cassandra Clare meets Caribbean legend in SHADOWSHAPER, an action-packed urban fantasy from a bold new talent.

Sierra Santiago was looking forward to a fun summer of making art, hanging out with her friends, and skating around Brooklyn. But then a weird zombie guy crashes the first party of the season. Sierra’s near-comatose abuelo begins to say “No importa” over and over. And when the graffiti murals in Bed-Stuy start to weep…. Well, something stranger than the usual New York mayhem is going on.

Sierra soon discovers a supernatural order called the Shadowshapers, who connect with spirits via paintings, music, and stories. Her grandfather once shared the order’s secrets with an anthropologist, Dr. Jonathan Wick, who turned the Caribbean magic to his own foul ends. Now Wick wants to become the ultimate Shadowshaper by killing all the others, one by one. With the help of her friends and the hot graffiti artist Robbie, Sierra must dodge Wick’s supernatural creations, harness her own Shadowshaping abilities, and save her family’s past, present, and future. -Goodreads.com

add to goodreads

3.5/5

Diverse: Puerto Rican main character!!!

What really drew me in to Shadowshapers was the beautiful cover and the colors on it. I didn’t really know anything else about it but when I sat down and read the summary it sounded like an awesome idea. And it was! the Shadowshaper world was super cool and definitely unique. Why didn’t I read this sooner?

And…dare I say it?

shadowhunters

I’m saying it! Basically Shadowshaper is like Shadowhunters (the TV show since I haven’t read the books) but so much better. It has better characters, a better story so Shadowshapers is all one big plus sign!

In the beginning of Shadowshaper is was just a lot of back and forth talking without a lot of action. The chapters were short, which was nice because I LOVE short chapters. Because of all of the talking in the beginning it was really hard for me to focus on and stay focused on. I think it’s because when you notice something like there’s a lot of talking, you begin to notice every single time someone else talks which takes you away from the story.

But after a while I got used to how it was and halfway through the book the pace began to pick up and we were finally introduced to more of the Shadowshaper world. The last few chapters really pick up in action and is worth the read.

Overall I do recommend reading Shadowshaper. It’s like Shadowhunters but has a better story to it and better characters. What are you waiting for?

4 thoughts on “Shadowshaper Review

  1. I’ll say, if I hadn’t read Shadowshaper before, I would have picked it up because I actually really like the Shadowhunters TV show haha. I’m a huge fan of the books but I like the series for some strange reason lol. But yeah, Shadowshaper was amazing and the fact that it had Puertorican main characters? I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the Shadowhunters show too πŸ™‚ I just think that Shadowshapers is better probably because you can get into the characters heads and know more about them! I’m really glad I read this because it was Sooooo unique!

      Like

  2. I’m so excited to read this book! We need so many more diverse non-contemporary books, ohmygosh. And the fact that this is like a The Mortal Instruments is pretty awesome. That’s not my favourite series, but I do generally like the plot and the world, so comparing Shadowshaper to TMI definitely has me super keen πŸ˜€

    I also really like short chapters. I feel like I read so much faster when a book doesn’t have chapters that are 100 pages long, haha!

    Thank you for this review ^.^

    Like

    1. Yesssss I love short chapters too πŸ˜€ I really don’t like stopping in the middle of a chapter, it’s really hard for me to do that xD but Shadowshaper was really good. If you read it, I hope you like it!!! Thank you for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

