Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Girls Like Me Mini Poetry Review!

I don’t read poetry that often so I find it hard to review… Actually, I think the only other poetry book I ever read was The Princess Saves Herself in the One and it was FANTASTIC. But back to the point, I don’t exactly know how, or what even to say in a review for poetry book. So MINI review time!

girls-like-me-collage

Diversity: overweight MC, POC author

I saw this book at the library and picked it up immediately. I adored the art on the cover and bright, vibrant colors, so I looked on the inside and… it… was… a… POETRY BOOK!

I was actually really surprised, I don’t see poetry books that often. I liked how this one sounded (plus cute cover) so I planned on reading it. It was a short, quick read, the nicely done poetry really helped that out anywho, on to the book.

instagram-girls-like-me
From our instagram 🙂

Summary from goodreads.com

Fifteen-year-old Shay Summers is trying to cope with the death of her father, being overweight, and threats from a girl bully in school.  When she falls in love with Blake, a mysterious boy online, insecure Shay doesn’t want to tell him who she is.   But with the help of her two best friends, as well as an assist by Kermit and Miss Piggy, ultimately Shay and Blake’s love prevails.
     Girls Like Me is a fun and fresh poetic take on teen angst, social media and online anonymity, and high school romance.add to goodreads

 

  • As I’ve already said, I kind of have a hard time reviewing poetry. I DO count this book as a poetry book. Honestly, I’m not sure why people say that having spaces between words isn’t poetry because it is pretty darn poetic if you ask me. The writing Lola St.vil created was so poetic, very descriptive and emotional this book actually made me tear up, and smile, but mostly cry. This book was a roller coaster ride, full of ups and downs. We can’t help but love Shay, we want to root for her. Lola St.vil wrote some amazing poetry, I really want to read more by her!
  • Again, I don’t read poetry books often, this is the second one I’ve ever read (maybe third?)… Girls like Me told a story using poetry, it was something I’d never seen before. This book had a full plot! This blew me away, and I would really love to see more of this.
  • The characters in this story, while not very developed (in my opinion), were lovable. I adored Shay and her story, well parts of her story. Kelly was awful towards her…. I loved her relationship with the guy she met online, although I found his true identity to be really predictable, that doesn’t take away from the joy (or sadness (at times)) I felt at reading their exchanges :).
  • My biggest complaint was that the story wasn’t very original. I think we’ve seen stories like this before… but it was still good. I’m not going to let that take away from the power of this book, because it was powerful. The main character, Shay, is overweight, she doesn’t have many friends and endures bullying. Her father died, so she feels alone… Shay’s story was easy to relate to, and hard to read at times. Her feelings poured into the poems making me emotional at times. We could connect with her.
  • Sometimes the poetry switched POV without explanation. Sometimes this threw me off, but it didn’t bother me that much. I sort of wish there was more explanation before the point of view switched but again, it wasn’t that abrupt or hard to figure out.
  • One of my biggest problems with this book was the lack of backstory. I get that this is a poetry book so I sort of understand why it would be hard to add backstory without it becoming too long, but somethings I would have liked more explanation on. What was Kelly’s deal? Why was she such a jerk, just because? Maybe… but I would have liked some reasoning. I DO get that some people are mean for no reason so I acknowledge that…

Well, that’s all I have to say about Girls Like Me.

Overall, it was a roller-coaster ride of emotion, a poetry book that told a story. GUYS, while some parts of this I didn’t like (random POV switch) this book was POWERFUL. I highly recommend it if you enjoy poetry! I don’t like poetry that much so maybe I need to stop reading poetry books… BUT I am SUPER glad I read this one because it was pretty good :).

Have any of you read this book? Do you like poetry? Should I read more poetry books?

2 thoughts on “Girls Like Me Mini Poetry Review!

  1. I loved this book, I thought all of the characters were super cute. I haven’t read that many poetry books, but One by Sarah Crossan is a pretty good poetry book (I think). It’s written the same way as Girls Like Me. Great review!

    Like

    1. They were SO cute, it was hard not to love them :). I’ll add that one to my TBR, I’d love to read more poetry books but I’m not sure if poetry books are my thing (sadly) :(. I liked how this one was written though XD! Glad you loved this book and thanks for the lovely comments!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

