Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

X-Files Agent of Chaos Review

x-files-agent-of-chaos-featured

xfilesHow did Fox Mulder become a believer? How did Dana Scully become a skeptic? The X-Files Origins has the answers.

The X-Files Origins: Agent of Chaos explores the teen years of Fox Mulder, the beloved character depicted in the cult-favorite TV show The X-Files. His story is set in the spring of 1979, when serial murder, the occult, and government conspiracy were highlighted in the news.

The book will follow Mulder as he experiences life-changing events that set him on the path to becoming an FBI agent.-Goodreads.com

 

add to goodreads

4/5

When I heard that there was going to be an X-Files book, I got kind of excited 🙂 I decided to start watching the show right then and right there because book adaptations of tv shows (and books made into tv shows) are awesome. Sure the inaccuracies aren’t always there but sometimes they sure do get them right. Look at the 100! I didn’t enjoy the books but I absolutely LOVE the TV SHOW (I still need to watch season 3 though 😦 ). Anywayyyyys I watched almost all of season one plus a handful of other episodes here and there. So when I write this review, please keep in mind that I’m not an X-Files expert nor do I know everything about this TV show. I do know some things though!

From the very beginning there was something that I liked about the X-Files Agent of Chaos. I was drawn in from the very first page and I didn’t want to set it down. It might be because Mulder is my favorite…I’m not sure xD

As I read the book, however, the mystery kind of fell flat. I felt like it was missing something that made the X-Files what it is. The X-Files has mysteries that leave you wondering if it was a human or some other thing out there. This book didn’t really make me get that feeling I have when I finish an episode of the X-Files. The unexplained just wasn’t there. The ending seemed to be left open too and I wasn’t a big fan of that either. I was really looking forward to Agent of Chaos being more supernatural (if that’s the right word), but it wasn’t. It makes me feel like there might be another book to Agent of Chaos, is the Devils Advocate really book two in the series? Or is it a separate story?

Another thing that really bothered me was the summary. It says, how does Mulder become a believer? This really wasn’t an answered question, at least I didn’t see a very clear/believable answer. I could see a few things that could make him believe a little bit, but none of it seemed to shape who he is in the show. Maybe the Devils Advocate explains it?

Despite those few little things I didn’t like, the rest of Agent of Chaos was great. The last portion of the story was super intense and kept me there until the end! The main characters were also likable (who doesn’t love Mulder????). Phoebe was a smart main character, Gimble was a geeky guy who loved Dungeons and Dragons, all of them were good friends.

Overall I really enjoyed Agent of Chaos. Mulder’s story was interesting and had great characters. I just didn’t feel like it answers the question of how he became a believer, even though that’s what the summary says.

3 thoughts on “X-Files Agent of Chaos Review

  1. The first four years of the x files tv show was some of the best tv I can remember. With stories within stories kept me interested. The faceless humans, aliens abducting aliens. Carter’s ability to use current headlines in his plots. To quote Syndrome “this is too good”.

    Like

  2. I have an X-Files book checked out from the library right now. I don’t remember which one though :P. I haven’t seen the show, but it sounds really good and it reminds me of Supernatural. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

