Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Carry On Review!

carry-on-collage

5/5

My favorite thing about Fangirl was the Simon Snow fan fiction, I adored Cath’s writing and Simon and Snow together. So when I heard Simon and Baz were getting a book, I KNEW I HAD to get it!

I bought Carry On when it first came out, for whatever reason I couldn’t get into it, so it’s been sitting on my shelf for two years. I picked it up by chance because I wanted to read something magical and I AM SO GLAD I DID!

Carry On joins my favorite shelf because it was just THAT GOOD. Rainbow Rowell blew me away.

Summary from goodreads.com

carry-onnnSimon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

add to goodreads

What I Liked

I feel like Rainbow Rowell took Chosen One cliches and turned them upside down, she made them her own and really changed it up. Carry On was unique and refreshing and SUCH a good read. I’m not over Simon and Baz and Penelope and their crazy amazing story, I don’t think I’ll ever be. I can’t really talk about how she made these cliches her own and turned them around because that’d spoil everything but I did really enjoy her take on the Chosen One story. Ahhhhh

Simon and Baz… I adored them to pieces, goodness, I enjoyed seeing their relationship develop and change. I loved them together, their banter, their sweetness (sort of XD) to one another. The villain and the hero. So cute.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book, they had so much depth and personality. My favorite (besides Baz) was Penelope. She was so smart, and she didn’t let anyone underestimate her, she broke rules because she could, she was powerful and so strong. I LOVE LOVE LOVE her, she might be one of my new favorite fiction characters (alongside Baz). Baz was a prickly guy, goodness. He was so mean to Simon, and I do understand why. The world pitched (pun (his name is Baz Pitch)) Baz against Simon, villain against hero, they were destined to kill each other because they were enemies. I loved reading from Baz’s point of view, he had such personality, you could see his struggle, and his hurt and his love for Simon. I didn’t really like Simon as much just because he was too heroic, too good that he didn’t feel real…

Rainbow Rowell’s idea for magic BLEW me away. In Carry On, their power comes from words and phrases, which to me was INCREDIBLY awesome. I don’t know what else to say about that other than I loved it… Oh! I also like how the spells were written in bold letters so they stood out more, that was a neat addition if you ask me.

The Humdrum was actually pretty creepy, not going to lie O_O” He was freaky freaky freaky… I loved the idea of him, and how they destroyed it!

The ending (before the epilogue) was just so amazing. It built up and then everything felt like it exploded (basically), it was intense, it was scary, it made me tear up a few times. Rainbow Rowell ended Carry On with a bang, a really loud and intense one.

 

What I Didn’t Like

Bi-erasure? I read some reviews where people said Carry On had bi-erasure so I’m taking their word for it. I just assumed Simon thought he was gay because he didn’t know that bisexuality existed, but since other people are concerned about it, I thought I mentioned it here, and I trust them so.

The first 100 pages or so were SO incredibly SLOW. I don’t know why we couldn’t just erase them and get to the good part (ok that sounded super harsh). But GUYS this book gets so good, that I bet you the incredibly slow, somewhat boring beginning turned people away from the amazing middle and end. Everything after Baz comes in is SUPER good, everything before was… meh. I almost dnfed this book and I am SUPER glad I didn’t because the rest was so gooooooood.

Overall

I recommend sticking to Carry On, and at least getting to where Baz comes in because that’s when things get good. Carry On was surprising in so many ways, it was cute, it was intense, and I really loved it! I hope you do too!!

8 thoughts on “Carry On Review!

  1. Im so glad you like this! I love this book, so I selected it for our December book club book, and a few of our members HATED it. Which I was so surprised by. I love how the whole thing is a direct response to Harry Potter and chosen one stories. And I love that the writing style is really consistent with fanfic in general.

    Like

    1. Awwwww 😦 well, at least you loved it! I haven’t read Harry Potter but it did give me a fan fiction vibe :D, and I loved that so much. At least you liked it XD haha I thought it was wonderful. Thanks for stopping by

      Like

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I had lots of fun writing this review. I was surprised on her take on some tropes, she mixed things up BIG time and it all worked out really well, it was pleasant and I kind of want to re-read it, which I NEVER do XD. If you read it, I hope you enjoy it too! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    1. I’ve read a lot of them actually… but I tend to not like them that much BUT BUT BUT Carry On was really good 🙂 not going to lie, it’s probably on my favorite list (it is on my favorite list XD). I hope you enjoy it and thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

