Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Three Dark Crowns Review

three-dark-crowns-featuredWhen kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown. -Goodreads.com

2/5

  •  I’ve always heard iffy things about Three Dark Crowns and now I see why.
  • One of the things that really took me away from the story of Three Dark Crowns was the constantly changing point of view.  The different points of views were broken up into new paragraphs but sometimes it left me confused. The change seemed too sudden, too out there. Most of the time I didn’t even care what the characters were doing, I just wanted it to get to the point.
  • And it took a long long time to get to the point. Three Dark Crowns was super slow, but I still found myself enjoying its slower pace. Most of the time I can’t stand slow books but I liked this one because it really built up the world where the three queens lived. However, I was waiting for a build up that never came. I was waiting for an action packed, heart pounding ending that never came. I kept seeing people talk about a shocking twist, a twist I saw coming from the first few chapters. The build up led to nothing, not one thing. I’m so disappointed in this book, I expected darker action, a better built world and more connection with the characters.
  • I didn’t even like most of the characters, I think this was because of the constant point of view change that I felt such a huge disconnect. The only character I kind of liked was Billy and he played a very small part. Most of the characters didn’t feel developed to me, they were just there to be there. They were loyal (or disloyal) just because. I didn’t even find myself interested in the three queens. The only cool thing about them was their powers. Poision, elements and the ability to control plants and animals. That’s a cool pair up! I just would have liked to read more about Katherine, out of all the queens, I think she had the least amount of chapters.
  • Despite my huge dislike for this book, I can see book two being much MUCH better. I think Three Dark Crowns was just the beginning of an awesome story. Hopefully I’m right…
2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns Review

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t really enjoy this one 😦 Three Dark Crowns is on my TBR pile, but it’ll probably be a long time before I ever get to it. Hopefully book 2 will be better for you!

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

  2. I initially had a hard time getting into Three Dark Crowns. I found it boring and it wasn’t till the end that I felt some what thrilled about what’s going on. I know book 2 will be better. Great review! 🙂

    ~Sabrina @ Omg Books and More Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

