TV Reviews

Sherlock Season 4 Episode 1 Review – Oh. M. Gee.

It’s been YEARS (literally) since the last season of Sherlock, Angelina and I have eagerly been awaiting season 4… AND IT IS HERE, finally. So did it live up to our anticipation? Did it live up to past episodes and seasons of Sherlock?

It did.

But first, a note: This review will not have spoilers unless I marked it as SPOILER.

episode-one

9/10

and a warning: Season 4 Episode 1 of Sherlock was disturbing at times making it a bit hard to watch. Ex: torture.

Spoiler free thoughts:

  • As always, Sherlock is beautifully done. I want to watch whoever is responsible for editing this show, edit it because my goodness, they are amazing at what they do. The transitions between scenes in his episode and the effects were so pretty, and so well done. That’s one thing I always loved about Sherlock, the colors, and the editing! Season 4 episode 1 kept up with the older seasons but showed us some cool new effects like video calling.
  • This episode was violent and at times, disturbing to watch. I think that the show has been as dark as this episode in earlier seasons like the episode where Moriarity strapped bombs to people and Sherlock had to save them, that episode was creepy too. Yet this episode, The Six Thatchers showed/implied torture, and was hard to watch…
  • One thing that took away from this episode was the ending. I wont be spoiling it BUT the beginning felt smooth and to the point whileΒ the ending was too jumpy and jumbled which made it a bit confusing. I understood the story perfectly fine, I just wasn’t a fan of how much the ending scenes jumped around.
  • This episode really packed a punch. We get to know more about characters who didn’t play a huge roll in previous seasons. Fair warning, this episode might make you cry so bring tissues. So many feels.

Now for a SPOILER reaction section. everything below here will contain ENDING spoilers so read at your own risk.

You have been warned!

Spoiler thoughts:

  • I really felt like this episode took my feelings and tossed them into the trash. The end of this episode left me feeling a lot more than crushed. You could really feel the sadness in the air as John held Mary while she died :/ John blamed Sherlock for killing her BUT come on John, really? He didn’t push Mary in front of him, Mary took the bullet for Sherlock.
  • The ending really shocked me. It makes me wonder, and hope, that Watson isn’t going to turn to the dark side. He is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO mad at Sherlock for “killing” Mary that he, in the end, refuses to talk to, or see Sherlock. Watson is practically Sherlock’s only friend and it BREAKS MY HEART to see these two fighting, and angry. The final scene really made me feel Sherlock’s broken heart… especially when Mary requests that he saves Watson. Did you hear that? That was the sound of thousands of hearts breaking. Oh gosh. I’m worried Watson might become the villain.
  • Another thing that REALLY upset me was Watson supposed cheating on Mary. Mary was talking about how he was such a good guy, yet we see Watson (apparently) texting this woman he met on the bus. He tells her that he is taken and they can’t talk anymore but it was nice to know her. Gosh darn it, this does not feel like Watson to me. He loved Mary so much, I guess her leaving in the middle of the episode was too much for him. I understand that he is upset that Mary left (and came back) but this didn’t feel like Watson. Now, I want to know more about this girl he was texting. Is she important? Will she be a big character in the next few episodes?
  • I WISH they gave more depth to Mary’s story and character before killing her off. We didn’t really get a chance to know her character that well before her death, I would have loved to see more of her character and relationship with Sherlock and Watson… but I had a feeling her death was coming.
  • Darn it. This episode was a roller-coaster.

Spoiler filled Recap:

In the beginning of the episode John and Mary finally have their baby. But Mary’s past is beginning to catch up to her. Sherlock goes to investigate the tragic death of this families son, who’s dead body was found in their car after it exploded in a car crash. It turns out their son flew home early to surprise the father and hid behind a car seat, he suffered from a stroke and died before he could surprise them. His body remained in the car for a week until the crash happened.

But something else was haunting Sherlock, a table filled with Margaret Thatcher photos is missing something. He later finds out that it was a bust made to look like her. Someone has been going around breaking these busts open, they’ve been going as far as to kill people. Sherlock finds out that there are six of them hidden around town, and he finds the man behind the break ins and murders. Aj, a member of Mary’s old assassin team, wants to find her and kill her. Mary was on a mission with her team G.A.R.A when they were outnumbered, Mary managed to escape but thought her team was dead. She thought wrong. The other members of the G.A.R.A were being tortured for fun, which made Aj want to hurt Mary for leaving them and not coming back. Each member of the G.A.R.A has a memory stick with information on one of the other members to hold them accountable, Aj hid his in a bust of Margret Tatcher and wants to find it. Mary leaves Watson to protect him and their child from her past, she travels the world totally randomly and puts on different personalities. Sherlock finds her using a tracking device on the memory stick they took.

The episode takes a turn when Aj is killed and Mary comes home. This is where the episode got very jumpy, and the true villain who sold out Mary and her team in the past tries to shoot Sherlock but Mary jumps in the way. Mary dies and Watson and Sherlock’s friendship is seemingly over.

If you watched Sherlock, what did you think of this episode? Please let us know!

12 thoughts on “Sherlock Season 4 Episode 1 Review – Oh. M. Gee.

  1. I loved this episode but not as much as some of the previous ones, it felt a little chaotic, or something, I can’t really put my finger on it.
    What I love most about this show is the subtle inside jokes in it, that you only get when you’ve watched everything.

    Like

    1. I felt that too, Angelina LOVED the episode but I thought it was okay. The ending was definitely chaotic if you ask me, it jumped around wayyyy too much. Those jokes are such a lovely addition πŸ˜€ I personally love Sherlock and Watson’s relationship. From episode one season one, you can really see how their character, and relationship has changed… specifically with this episode 😦 thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Spoilery comment ahead, for other readers!

    I had pretty much the same thoughts as you did about the plot and stuff – the ending did feel a bit rushed but OMG I was having all of the feelings. I found the John cheating plotline really interesting, because in the original stories he’s a bit of a womanizer (and gambler!) – I didn’t think this was an aspect of his personality that the show was going to go into. And like you, I’m really interested to see if the woman will pop up again!

    I CAN’T WAIT FOR NEXT WEEK!!!

    Like

    1. RIGHT?! SO MANY FEELINGS *cries*
      Personally, I haven’t read the books. Are they good? I didn’t know that about Watson :O! I was very shocked when that happened because I didn’t see it coming. I hope that they give us more about her, I want to know who she is!!!!!
      Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m kinda obsessed with the Holmes stories (I’ve been reading and re-reading them for over 10 years now, oh god I’m old) so I would definitely recommend them! Its especially fun when you can pick out the things that Gatiss and Moffat stole from the original stories πŸ˜€

        Like

  3. It has been YEARS, NO!!! And can you believe that I STILL haven’t seen it!!!!!. I’m scared now that something happened and people aren’t happy at all.
    What to do, what to do!
    I also hear that the show isn’t coming back for about 2 or 3 years? Rumors or true?
    Ugh, I hope it isn’t true.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog btw. I really appreciate it. Hope you have a great day xoxo

    Like

    1. It has been on tv for a looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong time :O! You should watch it πŸ˜€ If you like mystery, detective, well done shows then you’d love Sherlock. It can be intense at times, but it is 100% amazing! I’m not sure if it’s coming back or not because Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch are so busy that they said it’s been hard to get them together at the same time to film the series. They are considering making another season but nothing is official yet 😦 sadly. I’d love another season! Thank YOU for stopping by πŸ˜€ and have a good day too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

