Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

One Was Lost Review

one-was-lost-featured-image

jcslgpukDamaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Are they labels or a warning? The answer could cost Sera everything.

Murder, justice, and revenge were so not a part of the plan when Sera set out on her senior camping trip. After all, hiking through the woods is supposed to be safe and uneventful.

Then one morning the group wakes up groggy, confused, and with words scrawled on their wrists: Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Their supplies? Destroyed. Half their group? Gone. Their chaperone? Unconscious. Worst of all, they find four dolls acting out a murder—dolls dressed just like them.

Suddenly it’s clear; they’re being hunted. And with the only positive word on her wrist, Sera falls under suspicion… -Goodreads.com

add to goodreads

4/5

What I Liked

  • There was something I liked about One Was Lost from the beginning. Something that drew me in, so much so, that I almost couldn’t put down this book (but I had too because busy holidays!). One Was Lost was SO intense (to me at least) from page one. It starts off with a rocky start and that’s just when the real trouble begins. Every page left me wondering what would happen next. Some parts left me super uncomfortable/scared/horrified because these main characters went through some crazy stuff. The crazy ride doesn’t even stop until the very last page. If you’re looking for a book that just keeps the action coming this is the book for you.
  • Oh and there were so many twists. I think this was mostly a good thing (see What I Didn’t Like for why it was only ‘mostly a good thing’). It kept me guessing which was super fun.
  • Other than just the story, I liked the characters. Everyone was different, they all had their own personalities, relationships and backstory. You could tell who was who by what they said and how they acted.

What I Didn’t Like

  • One of the bad things was the twists. While they were mostly fun, there were a few of them that seemed out of place. They just didn’t seem to fit for me.
  • The main reason this didn’t get a 5/5 from me was because of who the killer was. I just couldn’t bring myself to accept why they did what they did. It seemed too out there for me, it just didn’t leave me that blown away.

Overall

  • While I LOVED this book, I feel like it didn’t leave much of an impression on me. This could be because I took a few days off from reading it since I was busy. Mostly it was an intense thriller but some twists really took me away from the story itself.

One thought on “One Was Lost Review

Leave a Reply

