Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Beast Review

beast-fatured-image

beastTall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn’t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers.

Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She’s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She’s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie’s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn’t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn’t listening. Something that shouldn’t change a thing. She is who she’s always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way? -goodreads.com

add to goodreads

3/5

~I tend to not enjoy retellings but I joined the 12 Days of Diversity challenge and Beast was one of the books I really wanted to pick up. It sounded like a Beauty and The Best retelling and, honestly, who doesn’t like Beauty and the Beast? Sadly, Beast didn’t live up to my expectations and I think it’s mostly because of the characters.

~The main character, Dylan was SOOOOOO rude to people and very judgmental. There were times when I didn’t want to finish the book because of his attitude. But I think he had that personality for a reason, his anger came from somewhere, it wasn’t just him being rude because he was rude. The reason behind it made me put up with the book and his personality. Not everyone is going to be nice and caring all the time, Dylan sure isn’t. Even though he wasn’t the most likable character out there, I found myself feeling bad for him. Dylan had the most personality out of everyone, in my opinion. The other characters seemed to lack something, Jamie was okay but JP just seemed to be a jerk for no reason at all. He was rude to the main character and then wanted forgiveness, but then maybe Dylan was seeing the world differently than JP was. JP was just lacking something…

~One of the things that bothered me about Beast, was Dylan’s reaction to finding out Jamie was transgender. He keeps raging for chapters, he feels angry, his parents and friends react poorly. I know this is how some people react but it was really hard to read their threats. I’ve seen some people label this book with a trigger warning for transphobia. So just in case, I’ll add it too.

~Overall I think the story was okay, it wasn’t anything that blew me out of the water. I don’t even know if the story was all that unique. I thought Beast was a Beauty and the Beast retelling but I didn’t really get that vibe, it just felt like another contemporary story. Nothing was really solved about Dylan and why he was so tall and why he was covered in hair, he just was. I guess that’s okay but I would have loved a reason behind it all. The ending was emotional, I think it was well done and I think what happened fit the story well. In the end, however, Beast wasn’t my favorite. I don’t tend to enjoy retellings and Beast proved to be no exception for that rule 😦

2 thoughts on “Beast Review

    1. You never know, you might enjoy this one 😀 it just wasn’t as big of a retelling as I thought it was going to be (if that makes sense). I can see how it would be Beauty and the Beast but it didn’t reflect that a lot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

