Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

The Alchemists of Loom Review

2/5

The Alchemists of Loom was given to me by the publisher for an honest review.

the-alchemists-of-loom-collage

You may or may not know this BUT The Alchemists of Loom was one of my top 2017 books I was excited for. The story sounded amazing, and I really like Elise Kova’s Air Awakens series (which I haven’t finished because I’m horrible at finishing series), plus the cover is soooooo cool (ART).

Anyways, I finished the book and… I’m definitely the odd one out here. While the majority of the reviews for this one give it five stars and high praise, I wasn’t a fan 😦 sadly.

NOTE: I think this book is PERFECT for fans of Truthwith, Throne of Glass and high fantasy stories in general, it just wasn’t for me I guess.

Note #2: This book was violent and has a lot of bloody scenes so be warned if you don’t like that kind of thing.

Summary from goodreads.com

Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

add to goodreads

What I Liked

The Alchemists of Loom is definitely unique, there is no denying that. Elise Kova mixed genres like steampunk, science fiction and fantasy into her really original ideas. I LOVED the world, I LOVED the ideas behind the world. As an example, the Dragons have magic that lives in different organs which is why people sometimes harvest them for their organs. Their eyes can see further than normal as a result, which is so so so so cool. I also liked how she used Chimera’s in her story, I haven’t seen many Chimera’s in fantasy so that was definitely a breath of fresh air… actually the MAJORITY of The Alchemists of Loom was like breathing in fresh air, it felt new and exciting and I couldn’t wait to see where it went.

Adding onto that a little bit, I really liked how she used different races besides elves and witches and all that. The Alchemists of Loom offered us a new look at Dragons, Chimeras and Fenthri.

What I Didn’t Like

Now onto what I wasn’t a huge fan of….

This is going to sound bad, but I didn’t like the characters. I think The Alchemists of Loom spent so much time focusing on the story and where it was headed, we didn’t get a chance to fall in love with the characters. I didn’t find myself involved in their story, or invested emotionally in the characters. If someone got hurt, I found myself not feeling as impacted as I usually am. This might also sound horrible but I didn’t find them to have personality, they just didn’t feel real to me…

The above reason is probably why I feel this way, but the romance also felt forced to me. I didn’t feel the chemistry between the characters who fell in love… it felt fake. I wanted to ship them, but there wasn’t enough there for me to.

The story wasn’t mind blowing like I was expecting. Again, I think this is because of the characters, I never felt the impact of the fast paced action, I never felt the emotion the characters portrayed. The ideas were interesting, just not captivating for me 😦

Some pages I found myself having to re-read. I think that some ideas were a bit confusing to me.

 

Fable’s Final Thoughts

The Alchemists of Loom wasn’t for me (sadly) BUT I do think that it has a lot to offer in terms of fantasy and originality. I do recommend it and it is super important to note, that I’m the only one I’ve seen so far who didn’t enjoy it… And I will be reading the next book when it’s out because I do want to see where things go.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s