Book Discussion

Diverse Books I Want to Read in 2017! A List!!!

diverse-2017

(This year was a horrible year for reading for me… I’ve been in what feels like a year long reading slump D: It’s been horrible. While I’m going to blog about other things next year (movies, video games), I’m hoping to continue reviewing books.

I’m not sure what 2017 will be like for me as far as reading goes, but I am hoping to read AT LEAST one diverse book a month. Now I know that doesn’t seem like a lot but I’m not sure if I’ll be reading more than one book a month *cries* However, I would really love it if I could read all of these :)!

Anyways, I decided to create a list of diverse books to read in 2017 that I’m hoping to read. Some of them were recommended from twitter :D. This list includes own voices, PoC, LGBT and mental illness in YA (I’m pretty sure this is all YA)

Fantasy

  1. Nora and Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor (Also historical fiction)
  2. Of Fire and Stars by Aurdrey Coulthurst
  3. Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler (Also historical fiction!!!)
  4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  5. Unicorn Tracks by Julia Ember
  6. Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember (2017)
  7. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao (2017)
  8. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh (2017)
  9. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao (2017)
  10. The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana (2017)
  11. Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older
  12. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
  13. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  14. The November Girl by Lydia Kang (2017)
  15. One the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
  16. A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson

Contemporary

  1. Far From You by Tess Sharpe
  2. Mirage by Tracy Clark
  3. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
  4. Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaiporta and Dhonielle Clayton
  5. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (2017)
  6. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (2017)
  7. The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich  (2017)
  8. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (2017)
  9. You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner (2017)
  10. Mirage by Tracy Clark
  11. History is All you Left Me by Adam Silvera (2017)
  12. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (2017)
  13. Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy  (2017)
  14. 10 Things I Can See from Here by Carrie Mac (2017)
  15. To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  16. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  17. Kids of Appetite by David Arnold
  18. Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist (2017)
  19. Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall
  20. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sara Ockler
  21. I Belive in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo (2017)

Science Fiction

  1. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
  2. Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (2017)
  3. Consider by Kristy Acevedo
  4. Want by Cindy Pon (2017)
  5. Shadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland (2017)
  6. More than This by Patrick Ness
  7. Willful Machines by Tim Floreen
  8. Timekeeper by Tara Sim
  9. Exo by Fonda Lee (2017)

Historical Fiction

  1. The Blazing Star by Imani Josey
  2. Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
  3. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (2017)
  4. Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

*Links too add~Timekeeper*

Anymore I should add to this list? I would really like some fantasy/science fiction recommendations because those are my favorite genres 🙂

5 thoughts on “Diverse Books I Want to Read in 2017! A List!!!

  1. The Love Interest sounds like a really interesting book. I def will be adding that to my TBR. 10 Things I Can See From Here sounds good too! Especially because I, too, struggle with anxiety so it would be awesome to read a book that I can relate to on some leave with the main character! OH MY GOD AND LOVE AND FIRST SIGHTS SOUNDS SO CUTE TOO. Thank you for this list… I added lots more books to my never ending TBR pile :3

    Like

    1. I am SUPER SUPER excited for The Love Interest 🙂 it sounds cute and funny, so I hope I like it *fingers crossed that I’m not overly excited XD* I hope you enjoy them! I heard that 10 Things I Can See from Here was good, and it sounds SO good too! I’m not sure if you read Consider or not, but that one deals with anxiety too, I heard that it was really relatable and realistic, I haven’t read it though so I can’t say for sure. I’m glad to help feed your TBR :D! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

