TV Reviews

Dark Matter Season 1 Review – A SEEMINGLY Unoriginal TV Show that Twists

dark-matter-season-1-review

I started watching Dark Matter because I was bored and really wanted a science fiction tv show to watch. I had heard good things about the show, but I didn’t really know what it was about…

~My summary~

Six people wake up on a spaceship with no memory of who they are. A science fiction tv show set in spaaaaaace.

space-gif

There’s not much I can say without spoiling everything so, there you go.

Season 1 was both what I was, and wasn’t expecting.

The beginning of the season started off really slow, the concept seemed over done and unoriginal which made it even slower for me. I was going to stop watching but I decided to continue anyways and see where the season went because it HAD to get better… and it DID get better. Yes the first half of season 1 is very slow and at times, boring, but the final few episodes were enough to make me keep watching, I’m halfway done with season 2 right now.

The ending to season one is REALLY intense and full of action and twists that I didn’t see coming. The final scene left me speechless, so I’m glad season 2 is out so I can get some answers. But seriously, if you are thinking of stopping Dark Matter, I recommend finishing at least season one because that’s where things get interesting and new, more original ideas are introduced.

oh-my-gif

One thing that I LOVE about Dark Matter is the characters. As soon as you think you know them, BOOM a big reveal hits you like a ton of bricks. Everyone is always changing, and as the truth about each crew member is revealed, your opinion on them changes.

For example I didn’t like Three at the beginning of the season, but by the end I kind of do… and I really like the android, Five and One and Two and Three…  They’re all great characters with super interesting back stories but Android and Two are my favorites.I LOVE character development, and I LOVE how the crew of the Raza slowly finds out who they are, and we get to see how it changes them.

shocked-gif

If you woke up with no memories and found out you were a HUGE wanted criminal, would you want to remember the horrible things you did in the past? Even if it changed you? Or would you want to start over and begin a new life?

It’s an interesting question that the crew struggles with in nearly every episode of season one.

The short of it: I recommend finishing season one because the ending was amazing and season two is 10000x better!

 

Leave a Reply

