Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Fate of Flames Review

2.5/5

Four girls with the power to control the elements and save the world from a terrible evil must come together in the first epic novel in a brand-new series.

When Phantoms—massive beasts made from nightmares and darkness—suddenly appeared and began terrorizing the world, four girls, the Effigies, each gained a unique power to control one of the classical elements: earth, air, fire, and water. Since then, four girls across the world have continually fought against the Phantoms, fulfilling their cosmic duty. And when one Effigy dies, another girl gains her power as a replacement.

But now, with technologies in place to protect the world’s major cities from Phantom attacks, the Effigies have stopped defending humanity and, instead, have become international celebrities, with their heroic feats ranked, televised, and talked about in online fandoms.

Until the day that New York City’s protection against the Phantoms fails, a man seems to be able to control them by sheer force of will, and Maia, a high school student, unexpectedly becomes the Fire Effigy.

Now Maia has been thrown into battle with three girls who want nothing to do with one another. But with the first human villain that the girls have ever faced, and an army of Phantoms preparing for attack, there isn’t much time for the Effigies to learn how to work together.

Can the girls take control of their destinies before the world is destroyed forever? -Goodreads.com

I was SO SO exited to receive this copy from Danielle, thank you so much for thinking of me 🙂 you should all go follow her on Twitter here!

 

What I Liked

  • From the very beginning, Fate of Flames is an action packed adventure. From there it seems non-stop almost like a movie. It was intense, nail biting and the powerful girls reminded me of a more female X-Men. The Effigies could seriously kick butt, they were tough girls, and people really looked up to them. The action really doesn’t stop at the beginning though, it carries through the whole novel. I think Fate of Flames is the first book I read that has this much action.
  • Maia is the main character who’s thrown in to the Effigy world and she’s a huge fan of them. I feel like if I were in her world, I’d be a huge fan too, I LOVE these kinds of things. Anyways, she was geeky about them, knew a lot, babbled a few times. But this showed that she was imperfect, which was different and a nice change. I really liked her in the beginning.
  • Like I said, the whole story made me thing of the X-Men. But Fate of Flames went beyond the general idea of people with powers. The author created a whole new, cool world full of Phantoms that lurk in the darkness and an evil rising. Her idea with the world was really unique, I never heard of a world like this before.

What I Didn’t Like

  • I said there was a lot of action but there was also lengthy conversations and a whole load of nothing. I feel bad saying this but I wished the action and chatting were more balanced. There would be long (pretty greatly described) fight scenes but they just kept going and going. Then when the battle was over they’d just talk and talk and talk. I think this is what really ruined Fate of Flames for me, I don’t want to be rude, but it began to bore me.
  • Okay, now back to the action point…and this might contain SPOILERS so skip this NOW if you don’t want mini spoilers. Maia is an Effigy right? She never really uses her powers not really in the beginning, not in the middle and only a little bit in the end. Maia doesn’t learn how to control her abilities either, she’s just conveniently saved when she needs to be. I was just a bit disappointed. END SPOILERS.

Overall

  • Fate of Flames had some great action scenes that really held me there, but the balance between action and talking felt poor. The idea was great, and by the end, I couldn’t wait for the next book.

2.5/5

Leave a Reply

