Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Scythe Review – Lots of Bark and Some Bite (???)

3/5 stars

I remember I was clicking through goodreads and I saw a book called Scythe. The cover was kind of interesting so I clicked on it, and started to read the synopsis, because yes I do that sometimes. Scythe sounded amazing, it sounded dark and thought provoking and honestly, all around interesting. The idea of not dieing, the idea of no disease, no war, no poverty, the idea of the world needing a force to keep the world from getting to overpopulated was really interesting!

No death doesn’t mean that life stops happening, no death means that the world will keep growing and growing and growing until there’s too many people. The idea behind Scythe sounded really interesting as I said, so yeah, I had to read it.

~Summary from goodreads.com~

In a world where disease has been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed (“gleaned”) by professional reapers (“scythes”). Citra and Rowan are teenagers who have been selected to be scythe’s apprentices, and—despite wanting nothing to do with the vocation—they must learn the art of killing and come to understand the necessity of what they do.

Only one of them will be chosen as a scythe’s apprentice. And when it becomes clear that the winning apprentice’s first task will be to glean the loser, Citra and Rowan are pitted against one another in a fight for their lives.

I did like Scythe… for the most part.

  • Scythe had a loooot of talking and even more world building. While I loved the narrative that switched from Citra to Rowan to random characters (not so random but I wont spoil), the narrative also made it a bit… boring. There was a lot of info dumping, a lot of telling instead of showing. This didn’t make the story any less enjoyable, it just made some parts really slow.
  • There were a few parts in Scythe that made me gasp. These scenes were fast paced and sometimes brutal to read. This is kind of what I mean by the narrative didn’t take away from the story, the good scenes were told by the narrator, and the narrator did a great job giving us ALL the details.

taylor-swift-gif

  • But at the same time, the story was kind of… predictable. At first I was shocked but it turned out that I was right all along :\ I really hate when this happens but I am ALWAYS predicting the plot so why am I surprised? There were a lot of plot twists in this one, but they were really predictable to me so that made the book a bit underwhelming.
  • When the first plot twist happened, I was REALLY excited. I thought that the book was going to take a turn and get even more interesting. It would have been a five star book for me if it stayed true to it’s original ideas, if that makes any sense…
  • Scythe was really dark, and despite what I said, the ending was great! The second half of the book was really good, it was intense and dark, the ending was probably one of the best endings I have EVER read. I kid you not, if you feel like DNFing Scythe, at least read the ending. I had SO many chills.

mindblow

  • One of my biggest complaints was the relationship between Citra and Rowan. The book acted like they were friends but I didn’t really feel it.
  • One the GOOD side of things, the world was crazy awesome. Not awesome in the sense that I want to live there, it was awesome in the this is SOOOOO unique way. The idea of Scythe is what kept me reading, the immortality part, the idea of the Thunderhead, the mystery and suspense…. all of it made Scythe pretty good (even though it sounds like I didn’t like it, I did.)
  • Scythe took Citra and Rowan and put them on the spotlight. This was a story more about two characters than the world they lived in. It was about a society that took the childhood (basically) from two kids and forced them to grow up fast. Scythe made me want to cry sometimes, but more than that, it gave me chills. These are some haunting characters, they will really make you think and question.

All in all, this is my first book by Neil Shusterman, I want to read more by him! I would have liked this book so much better if it weren’t so predictable 😦

thumbs-up-gif

Scythe Moodboard

pixlr_20160831100714666

I wanted to show the parallel between Citra and Rowan, because in a lot of ways, I thought they were similar. Two kids forced into a dark task…

One thought on “Scythe Review – Lots of Bark and Some Bite (???)

Leave a Reply

