Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Vassa in the Night Review – AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!

vassa-in-the-night-featured-image

5/5 stars!

I had NO idea Vassa in the Night was based off of a Russian Folktale until I picked it up to read about it. But goodness, tell me a book is based off of folktales, mythology, whatever and I am so in, especially if it isn’t Greek or Roman. Not hating on Greek or Roman mythology, but we just get so much of it. I love to explore other countries mythology and folktales so yes please, a story based off of a Russian Folktale sounds wonderful.

SIGN ME UP.

20161023_105909.jpg
click the image to visit our instagram!
~Summary from goodreads.com~
In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair…

goodreads

What I Liked

  • As I already mentioned, Vassa in the Night is based off of a Russian Folktale. Now, I’ve never read this folktale or heard about it before, so I’m not sure how true it is to the story or if it’s a lot different. The thing that I loved about Vassa in the Night was it’s uniqueness story wise. Talking dolls, dancing stores, everything about this book was so odd, yet so wonderful. Also I loved how she added Baba Yaga and her house with chicken legs. I was wondering how that was going to work out and it worked out wonderfully 😀 (I do know a BIT about Russian mythology, but Baba Yaga is pretty much it. Sadly…)
  • I really enjoyed the characters! Vassa and Erg were two of my favorites, I just adored their relationship. Vassa is a sassy girl, and her wit is fun to read, she has some great comebacks when it comes to her dialogue, both inner and outer. Other than those two, I pretty much loved everyone even Babbs. Yes she was kind of evil, but at the same time, she had personality. They were so full of personality they felt like they had multiple dimensions.
  • Again, this book was odd. But that’s what made it so wonderful! I am a huge fan of magical realism, it’s fun and interesting and always entertaining. So I might be biased when I say this, but I REALLY LOVED the magical realism in Vassa in the Night. It’s odd so you might have to try a bit harder to remember certain things, but it all fits together so well. I LOVE it.
  • I also really enjoyed the ending, but if I’m being honest, the entire book was such a joy to read. From the very beginning I was caught in beautiful writing full of Vassa’s personality. I can’t EXPRESS how much I loved this book (so this review might sound rambly XD I JUST LOVED IT A LOT!)

What I Didn’t Like

  • The only thing I DIDN’T like, is pretty much just a content warning. Vassa in the Night gets a bit bloody and violent in the end, in a way that I ever saw coming. Goodness guys, just be warned about that. I wish I knew… even though I’d still read it because I LOVE magical realism and there will never be enough magical realism for me. But yes, Vassa in the Night did get violent in the end. BE WARNED.

Fable’s Final Thoughts

  • Read Vassa in the Night. Please do it! This is one of my favorite books this year because of how magical and odd it was. This book is not to be missed out on 🙂

1475445252321

2 thoughts on “Vassa in the Night Review – AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

