Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Roseblood Review – THRILLING, UNIQUE, WONDERFUL!!

roseblood-featured-image

3/5 stars*

 *4/5 if I ignore my negative notes (because I DID love this book)

I picked up Roseblood at NYCC and let me tell you, I was pretty excited. I liked the idea of a Phantom of the Opera retelling, I just wasn’t too sure if I’d like it only because I thought it would be historical fiction (look at the cover @_@) nothing against historical fiction! I do love it, it’s just I wasn’t in the mood for it.

So anyways, I started reading Roseblood and it BLEW me away. BUT, I’m going to add a but, it is not like it sounds… and I don’t know how to explain that without spoiling everything.

NO SPOILERS!

roseblood-bookstagram
Click the image to see our instagram!

~Summary from goodreads.com~

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

goodreads

What I Liked

The thing that caught me off guard with Roseblood was the story. Again, I was expecting something completely different and ended up with… something very different and unique. Roseblood is unlike anything I’ve ever read before, the story was very original, and the concept was just so incredible it had me hooked since the beginning. A.G. Howard is an amazing author, so of course her writing was fantastic and beautiful 😀

Roseblood has some pretty words. I know that sounds weird, but some of the sentences and scenes gave me chills. CHILLS! I really want to quote them but you’re not supposed to quote from an ARC so you’ll just have to read it.

I really enjoyed the characters in this one! Rune has some of the best friends in the world, and I just wanted to hug them. They all had personality and seemed like they could be real, I just wish they played a bigger role…

What I Didn’t Like

While I did love the story of Roseblood, there were somethings I couldn’t get into…

Insta-love. It’s one of my least favorite things ever. I’m not hating on this book, I just don’t like it when X meets O and then BOOM. I LOVE YOU! No, I’m sorry D:. I think that relationships need to develop and evolve before love happens. But I’m going to be lenient and say I understand why there was insta-love and no spoilers but I do think it was important so *shrugs*

I was PRETTY disappointed in the end. I loved the entire book, but the ending felt rushed. There was so much buildup, I was expecting something way more crazy than what we got. I still think she did a good job with it, but I wasn’t as blown away as I was hoping :/

Roseblood was REALLY good but… nothing happened? Maybe it’s just me, but I seriously feel like nothing happened in this book. While I loved the unique world, adorable characters and amazing writing, after reaching the half way point, I realized that nothing had happened in over 200 pages of reading. Which for me was fine, because again, I did LOVE what I was reading, it gave me Nancy Drew and Halloween vibes but still. I was expecting more plot, especially when it came to the “mean girls.”

I only put that in quotes because I’d be mad if I was Kat too. But ok, they were pretty mean to Rune. The thing that bothered me most with the characters was how unimportant they were. Rune made friends who loved her and… they were pretty much absent for 80% of the book. The mean girls kind of bullied her for stealing the spotlight (kinda??) and… they only played like one trick and moved on. I feel like there was too much going on, that the relationships between the characters never developed. I would have loved less focus on Rune and Thorn (not a spoiler! It says she meets him in the summary) and more focus on Rune and her relationships at Roseblood. But that’s just me.

Fable’s Final Thoughts

I did really REALLY love Roseblood despite all the negative points I gave it. The story was very original and refreshing, and honestly, it might be on my favorites list now. I REALLY recommend that you read it, not going to lie, it was pretty awesome regardless.

One thought on “Roseblood Review – THRILLING, UNIQUE, WONDERFUL!!

Leave a Reply

