Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Infinity of You And Me Review – Wasn’t What I Was Expecting..

the-infinity-of-you-and-me-featured-image

Summary from Goodreads.com~

What if every life-altering choice you made could split your world into infinite worlds?

Almost fifteen, Alicia is smart and funny with a deep connection to the poet Sylvia Plath, but she’s ultimately failing at life. With a laundry list of diagnoses, she hallucinates different worlds—strange, decaying, otherworldly yet undeniably real worlds that are completely unlike her own with her single mom and one true friend. In one particularly vivid hallucination, Alicia is drawn to a boy her own age named Jax who’s trapped in a dying universe. Days later, her long-lost father shows up at her birthday party, telling her that the hallucinations aren’t hallucinations, but real worlds; she and Jax are bound by a strange past and intertwining present. This leads her on a journey to find out who she is while trying to save the people and worlds she loves. J.Q. Coyle’s The Infinity of You & Me is a wild ride through unruly hearts and vivid worlds guaranteed to captivate.

1/5

This review isn’t going to have it’s usual format since I don’t have a lot to say about what I liked. Instead I’ll just list my thoughts on The Infinity of You & Me.

I won the BNTeens event so I got this book for free from Griffin Teen! (THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE WONDERFUL PACKAGE :D)

  • The one thing that really kept me from liking The Infinity of You & Me was the writing. Every page was short sentences followed by short paragraphs, the benefit of this is that it makes it quick to read! Only there was a downside, I felt like the whole story was just telling you what happened instead of showing you. Because of this I felt like the scenes weren’t that developed and neither were the characters. The main character got out of trouble so easily, so much so that it really took away from the story. The action and intense moments didn’t feel actiony or intense. It made me sad.
  • ANOTHER thing that bothered me was the characters. I felt like they lacked dimension/personality/character. I think this might have been because of the writing style. BUT then there was this (kind of?) love triangle where BOOM the main character was in love with another one. It just seemed so random and out there, she had no previous feelings that even hinted at her liking him. She just had this random realization that she really, really liked this character. That took me out of the story, I found myself wondering where the heck her love came from. Plus that character wasn’t even a big part of the story until (maybe) the last twenty pages.
  • Then there’s the story…because of the two points above I couldn’t really get into The Infinity of You & Me. Like I said, the main character gets out of trouble way too easily for my liking. The characters weren’t developed and the story was short. All of these added together made me feel bored while reading it.
  • I’m sorry I didn’t like The Infinity of You & Me. I really wanted to like it (I mean just LOOK at that dazzling cover!) but I couldn’t get into it. I tried, I really did. But if you like science fiction stories then this is the one for you! Try it out, you never know, you may just like it.

1/5

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

