Memes

Books We Read Because of Recommendations- Top Ten Tuesday #57

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, they can be found here 🙂

So far, I have a pretty good record with loving books people recommend me! Out of these 10, I didn’t enjoy three, so that IS SUPER EXCITING! Also, it’s weird because I read a lot of these because of Paper Fury...

Recommendations I Did Like

TheImpostorQueenbySarahFinethe princess saves herself in this onedamage done TheGlassArrowbyKristenSimmonsan inheritance of ashesemmy and oliverthe lightning thief

A lot of these are actually my favorite books…. Percy Jackson, An Inheritance of Ashes, The Impostor Queen, The Princess Saves Herself in This One, Damage Done and Glass Arrow were SUPER good! You can read my reviews on the blog here, I don’t know what to say about these individually but I DO recommend them 🙂

The Impostor Queen: MAGIC, high fantasy, crazyyyyyyy GOOD

The Princess Saves Herself in This One: Touching, deep, wonderful poetry, and quick to read 🙂

Damage Done: INSANE, plot twisty, so good!

The Glass Arrow: I LOVED this one, I didn’t think I would but oh my goodness, so great. There’s apparently another one coming soon?

An Inheritance of Ashes: Dark, dark, historical fantasy (ish? Kind of?), this one blew me away.

Emmy & Oliver: cute, swoon worthy, ADORABLE. I am a basket full of feels.

Percy Jackson: Do I have to explain myself here XD?

Note: some of these reviews are really old, don’t judge. We’ve evolved as writers through blogging, but my old reviews scare me haha O_O”

Recommendations I Didn’t Really Enjoy

the sin eaters daughterready player oneAcrosstheUniversebyBethRevis

These three books were a miss for me 😦 I was mostly disappointed by Across the Universe, which was disturbing to me (the season *shudders*) and Ready Player One which was really boring and info dumped way too much… But The Sin Eater’s Daughter wasn’t too bad, it was just slow.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter: This one was just really slow for me, but the world was VERY creative and unique, so it wasn’t that uninteresting. I did like the world and I will (eventually) read the next book 🙂

Ready Player One: This is one of the most disappointing books I’ve ever read, but I blame the hype. This is going to be a movie, so of course I was ridiculously excited! Instead of loving it as I thought I would, I found it boring and too info dumpy for me to enjoy :/

Across the Universe: another victim of hype. I’ve been wanting to read this one for a looooong time, and I sort of wish I never read it. I heard the series gets better, and I’m not trying to bash, but this book was super disturbing to me *shudders* and I didn’t really find it to be a fun read 😦 sadly, I found it boring.

What books have you read purely from recommendations? Did you love it? Or did you hate it?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Books We Read Because of Recommendations- Top Ten Tuesday #57

  1. oooh interesting, I have added quite a few of these TBR in the past (because of I have seen reviews on blogs or people talking about them on twitter) but haven’t got around to reading them yet! Although I haven’t see that many good reviews on The Glass Arrow, I originally saw this one on my goodreads recommendations and I added it to my to-buy list, but then I went and read some bad reviews on it so took it off, looks like it might be one I need to revisit!

    Like

  2. Hi! Ready Player One is on my TBR list. It’s been hyped, so good to know…I’ll temper my expectations 🙂 I need a quick read these days, so The Princess Saves Herself in This One is one I’ll have to check out!
    Leslie
    My TTT

    Like

    1. Hello 🙂 I hope you enjoy Ready Player One anyways! I was just over excited for it, but there was too much information dumping for me, BUT I know that a lot of people loved it! I definitely recommend The Princess Saves Herself in this One, it was absolutely fantastic and blew me away! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

