Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Dark Matter Review

4/5

“Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.” 

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable–something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

What I Liked

  • Generally I don’t read adult books because I’m not a fan of adult themes and descriptive stuff xD it’s why I read young adult/teen books. BUT BUT BUT the summary of Dark Matter really made me want to read it. Especially the first sentence of the summary. And then I found out the author wrote Wayward Pines (a TV show I watch and like) so I had to read it.
  • After a while Dark Matter got SO intense. So much so that my heart was POUNDING! This hasn’t happened in a while.
  • I really don’t have much to add but I LOVED Dark Matter. It was dealt with things that made you think. Spoilers for the rest of this point, Dark Matter talks about multiverse or parallel universes and how each decision you make branches off into thousands of other worlds where something different happens. I loved that because it’s something I think about often (which is weird, I know but anyways…) I loved it and how the other worlds played their part. End Spoilers!

What I Didn’t Like

  • The beginning of Dark Matter was really hard for me to read. Not because it was insanely dark, not because it was super gory (it wasn’t either of those.) It was just really different from other books I had read. The whole book consists of short sentences, if the sentence isn’t short than its part of a short paragraph. It took a while to get used to but ended up making the book a really quick read. I managed to finish it in two days!
  • While Dark Matter could be intense, there were some moments that had me bored. Near the end, before the final conflict, everything got kind of repetitive and bored me.

Overall

  • I know this is super short but I really did love Dark Matter. I just don’t want to spoil the story for you. I definitely reccomend it for sure especially if you want something quick to read.

4/5

7 thoughts on “Dark Matter Review

    1. Oh, I’m sorry! I said I don’t tend to read adult books because sometimes they can be gory. Dark Matter wasn’t (from what I remember) gory. It was intense though 🙂 I’m sorry again, I know that sentence was kind of wacky!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

