Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Forgetting Review + Moodboard

1/5

What isn’t written, isn’t remembered. Even your crimes.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person’s memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn’t written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her. -Goodreads.com

I received this book free from Miss Print’s Arc Adoption, thank you so much (and this doesn’t change my opinions at all!)

The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron was one of my most anticipated books of the year. When I got the book I was so excited to actually start reading it. The pretty cover really drew my attention, the summary really REALLY made me want to read it. Every 12 years they FORGET everything? Yes, please, sign me up.

What I Liked

  • Near the end of the book, The Forgetting really picks up pace and action. Everything is thrown into chaos.

What I Didn’t Like

  • From the very beginning, The Forgetting was really hard to get into. It just throws you in the middle of a story without really explaining anyone or anything. This made it really hard for me to just focus on what was happening because I didn’t understand completely what was going on. From there it didn’t get much better, in my opinion. The whole book felt like constant info dumping and it told you more than it showed you. There didn’t seem to be many descriptions, I think that maybe the world building was week. The Forgetting seemed to rely on lots of conversations and catching the reader up on what’s happening in Nadia’s world.
  • The whole Forgetting thing kind of confused me, but I think I tend to look into things a bit too deep. They Forget EVERYTHING right? So does that mean they forget everything they learned in school? Because, from what I remember, some of them had memories from their past which didn’t make sense to me. Then I was confused by their jobs too. The seemed to want jobs that helped their town grow and thrive, why do they need a glassblower? Why do they need a fuel maker? There were no cars that I know of, I mean maybe they needed it for fire or something? Who knows?
  • Another problem I had was with the main character. Okay this MIGHT be a bit spoilery? SO YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Nadia goes over the wall and acts like it’s her biggest secret. Well..every single character seems to KNOW she climbs over the wall. It’s not really a secret if EVERYONE in the town knows she does it. End Spoilers. YAY!
bored gif
Me while reading this…
  • Oh my gosh, THE PLOT TWIST. I wanted to throw the book and be done with it because IT DID NOT FIT THE BOOK AT ALL. I really REALLY wanted to be done with it, to never know how it ended because I hated it that much. Really, it’s so stupid (in my opinion, some people might really enjoy it!) Also I feel like it was never really explained or finished, if that makes sense. Plus, there were a few more things that didn’t make sense at all and they weren’t explained fully either.
  • The villain. Do I need to say more? I felt like the villain didn’t really play a part for the majority of the book (maybe I’m wrong?) I didn’t find him/her threatening at all. I didn’t think her/his story was very interesting.

Overall

  • I really didn’t like The Forgetting, perhaps my hopes were too high? Quite a few things were left unexplained or partially explained. The story told more than showed and I didn’t like the plot twist. Still, I’d give it a try because you might end up loving it!

    I like how the picture turned out 🙂

    One thought on “The Forgetting Review + Moodboard

    Leave a Reply

    