Book Discussion · How to Start Book Blogging

How to Start A Book Blog~P3. Blog Tours, Graphics and More

Finally I can start part three! In this post I’m going to talk about places you can use to make pretty pictures, blog tours, #BooksForTrade, ways to get cheaper books and more!

Graphics

Sometimes you might want to make a pretty picture or a graphic for a post. There are TONS of ways to do this! You could use photoshop (which is an amazing, kind of expensive(?) program) or you could use one of these free alternatives.

On my computer I tend to use Pixlr or Picmonkey. Pixlr has several different modes you can use to make pictures. Pixlr Editor is A LOT like photoshop, it’s more advance. Pixlr Express is, for me, an easier option. It has a ton of overlay options (which can be super pretty), you can also make collages that can turn out pretty. I tend to use Pixlr for my book review featured images because I don’t need fancy things I just need a collage and some overlays.

I’m starting to like Picmonkey more though. Pickmonkey is what I used to make this posts featured image. They have more stickers, there’s also overlays, tons of fonts, frames and you can edit collages more (which I LOVE). The only downside to this, however, is that there’s a paid version that gives you more. There is a free trial but once you’ve had a taste of the paid experience do you ever REALLY want to go back xD?

So, in short, Pixlr is good for Photoshop like things and simple collages. Pickmonkey has more options with stickers and fonts and lets you edit collages more. Pickmoney also offers a paid version. They’re both online websites.

If you don’t want to use the internet and you want to use an offline program you can try Photoshop or Gimp. I haven’t used Gimp that much but it’s a LOT like Photoshop and the online Pixler Editor. So that’s a great alternative if you want an offline program.

Now if you want an APP for your phone that edits pictures there are a few that I know of in the Google Play store. I have an Android phone so these apps may not be available on Iphones or Window phones, so please keep that in mind. The app I use for editing pictures is called PicsArt it’s a simper nice, simple photo editor that I use for my Instagram pictures. Pixlr also as an app as does Picmonkey. I’ve used the Pixlr app but not the Pickmonkey app so I can’t say how it is. But those are a few alternatives 🙂

Blog Tours

Blog tours are a great way for an author/publisher to spread the word about their books, they’re a great way for bloggers to get more views AND sometimes there are giveaways. You heard me right 🙂 Blog tours usually assign bloggers to post certain things, they aren’t always reviews. Sometimes you’re asked to make a moodboard, to interview the author, to post a cover reveal or post an excerpt from the book. With book reviews, sometimes you are given an e-copy, sometimes you’re given the book to read for a certain amount of time and you have to then send it to the next person, other times you can keep the physical arc you are given.

Also, it’s important to note that MOST blog tours do NOT want you to post your review on their tour if the rating is under three stars. I don’t think I’ve seen one that asks you to post your review if it is two stars or less. If you don’t like the book you’re given you do have options, you can email the tour host and they might let you post something else. Like a moodboard, excerpt or some other post that comes to mind.

Blog tours also have rules, you HAVE to have your post up by a certain time on a certain date.

YAY! Blog Tours. They’re a lot of fun, if you can get in them. There’s a few I’m NOT GOING TO NAME NAMES, that I can NEVER get into. I really want them to accept me T.T maybe one day?

There are TONS of blog tour services, but the ones that I know of include Rockstar Book Tours, Xpresso Book Tours, Rich in Variety Tours, and The Irish Banana Review Blog Tours.

Rockstar Book Tours, from what I’ve seen, does more young adult books. I haven’t seen many adult books on there before.

Xpresso Book Tours seems to do more adult/new adult, but there are young adult blog tours offered on their website.

Rich in Variety Tours offers blog tours for LGBTQIA+, POC and disabled authors, I think they started recently, so go check them out.

The Irish Banana Review Blog Tours I just recently found as well, I’m not sure what types of books they do but it seems like a good one to go with.

A lot of these websites you have to fill our a blogger form BEFORE you request to do a book blog tour. You’re asked to enter your blog name, give stats and post your Twitter name (if you have one). So make sure you do this before you start filling out the Blog Tour form for the book you want.

The Cost of Blogging

Some people think that blogging costs a lot when it really doesn’t have to cost you much. Some people HAVE to buy the newest book as soon as it comes out, that’s great, that’s good. But you don’t have to do that at all, it’s great to support authors but sometimes you don’t always have the money. Save it up to buy a book you love, here are some alternatives that allow you to STILL support an author while saving money at the same time. We have a whole post on how to get cheaper/free books LEGALLY here.

Also, there are libraries 🙂 they’re great places. And despite what SOME PEOPLE think, they’re not for ‘nerds’. There’s nothing wrong with nerds either (FYI). Smart people use their resources and that’s why they use libraries. It’s a good place to try out a book you’re unsure of if you’ll like.

Just please don’t download books illegally, there are options out there! Support the authors and publishers so they can keep bringing you great books.

Books For Trade

Books for Trade is a Twitter hashtag (#BooksForTrade), there people put pictures of their books with a wishlist (generally) next to it. If you have the book and don’t want it anymore, it’s a great way to get a book you really want. I recommend checking it out 🙂

MOST IMPORTANTLY

Some people get caught up in their stats or their ‘need’ for arcs. I get it, you want to be successful, you want to be one of those popular bloggers. Please just remember that these things take time. My sister and I have been blogging for almost three years now, we still aren’t the most popular book blog, we still don’t get many arcs (but we’re starting to request more :D) and we don’t always get accepted for blog tours. If you’re rejected just remember that you WILL get there one day.

Don’t Be Afraid To Do What You Want

Don’t be afraid to do what you want either. If you want to talk about flowers DO IT. If you want to review movies GO FOR IT. This is your space, your place. Talk about what you want, scream about your favorite Marvel character. Do what you want and love yourself for it 🙂

~~~~~~~

Now these aren’t ALL the things that come with book blogging, it’s a constant learning process, so I’m sure I missed something. But these are all the topics I could think of.

~~~~~~~

If you want to read more about the platforms you can start your blog on. If you want to know a way Brianna and I review books, how to request arcs and where to do so, check out my first post here.

If you want to read more about the social media/goodreads/giveaway/memes aspect of book blogging check out my second post here.

~~~~~~

Am I missing anything? If I am, feel free to ask me about it and I’ll answer your questions OR make a whole new post on it xD I’m sure I could keep going. I hope these posts have been helpful 🙂

3 thoughts on “How to Start A Book Blog~P3. Blog Tours, Graphics and More

    1. I am so glad you thought so 🙂 I just wanted to try and make a helpful post. I know when we started blogging there were so many things we didn’t know about, so I wrote this post as a sort of helpful guide haha. Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

