Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) Review – The Suspense, the Drama!

5/5

~Summary from goodreads.com ~

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Throne of Glass Review (book one)

Crown of Midnight Review (book two)

Heir of Fire Review (book three)

I have been putting of Queen of Shadows for just about a whole year now, it’s just so long and intimidating, and I just couldn’t bring myself to sit down and read nearly 700 pages. I could be reading like six books for the time I spent reading Queen of Shadows. But in the end, Twitter drama and the curse of Empire of Storms spoilers practically forced me to pick up Queen of Shadows and binge read it so that I don’t get too spoiled… and so I can read Empire of Storms ASAP, you know, because people have to spoil things.

*eye roll*

Still annoyed that people feel the need to be so dramatic about Throne of Glass, a ship doesn’t matter. It shouldn’t matter, NOT THIS MUCH! It’s a fictional world, it’s ok to be passionate. It is not ok to rage against people who don’t agree with you… on to my review

  • Queen of Shadows was a mix of slow and intense/interesting scenes. I’m not going to lie, there were plenty of times I wanted to DNF it, it’s a beast. I’m glad I didn’t give it up because the good/action/intense/interesting scenes definitely made Queen of Shadows worth it. There were times when I wanted to cry, when I wanted to cheer on a character or scream at a character for being such a jerk *cough* Vernon *cough* Arobynn *cough* Queen of Shadows is worth every page, I promise you that these good scenes are 100% worth it. The ending was INCREDIBLE, this might be my favorite Throne of Glass ending.
  • At times I was kind of confused, I didn’t read The Assassin’s Blade, and I think that might be why I don’t remember them. I didn’t remember Arobynn (I think he was in the previous books but I don’t know) and Lysandra. I like Lysandra, I don;t like Arobynn. Anyways, after my initial confusion, I think it was easier to just roll with the introduction of new characters because there is a TON of new characters.
  • The bad guys keep getting creepier and creepier. Obviously, Throne of Glass keeps raising the stakes so by now you know if you’re ok with it or not but my goodness, the bad guys are just plain awful. But I love a good villain! What is a story, especially fantasy, with a lame bad guy that can be taken out in two pages? I love it when villain’s make things difficult, when they are strong and when they win. It makes things much more interesting :O
  • Character growth. My goodness. All of the characters keep growing and changing, and the things they endure are actually shaping them into different people. They aren’t dry paper towel characters, they are changing and evolving characters.

Obviously I am a fan of Sarah J Maas, I REALLY loved Queen of Shadows. I don’t know what else to say other than read my reaction post when it is up! I go into more depth, but my reaction post is filled with spoilers. It’s really hard to write this review without spoiling everything. It is the fourth book in the series after all 🙂

Queen of Shadows Moodboard!!

1472742621608

4 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) Review – The Suspense, the Drama!

Leave a Reply

