Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Labyrinth Lost Review + Moodboard!

4/5

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland… -Goodreads.com

Check it out on Goodreads HERE!

Thank you Sourcebooks Fire and Netgalley for giving me a free copy to review, this doesn’t change my opinion at all. But thank you 😀

I’ve been wanting to read Labyrinth Lost since I first saw the cover and read the synopsis. It sounded like a magical ride, I needed a magical ride to take me out of this book slump. Ah yes, it did.

What I Liked

  • From the very beginning Labyrinth Lost was a magical adventure. The first chapter really set up what life was like for Alex and what I read, made me want to read more. From there the uniqueness increased as did my interest. Labyrinth Lost is different from other young adult novels (not to bash, just saying). It has Latin American culture and traditions that I didn’t know about, they were super cool to read about.
  • Like I said Labyrinth Lost is magical the world of Los Lagos is very well written. Everything the characters came across I could see in my head just like it was a movie. The description says the world is like Wonderland, and for once, that’s SPOT ON. Everything was colorful, vibrant, creepy, awesome all at the same time. The creatures had history, the land always changing, I loved it. The world your taken into is full of heart pounding action, drama, then some more action. It’s so well written too and it doesn’t really stop until the last few pages.
  • The magic system is cool too. Everyone (from what I understand) has their own abilities and special bruja’s can use more than one. But there is a recoil for what magic you use. If you use fire magic it burns your skin, things like that. The balance system is something I LOVE so much. I’m glad it took part in Labyrinth Lost.
  • Another good thing about Labyrinth Lost, as the bonds Alex had with her friends and family. Family isn’t something often talked about, or seen in young adult books (at least, I haven’t read many), and Alex had a family. Her family reminded me of Blue’s family from The Raven Boys (which I have yet to finish), they seemed tight but they also didn’t get along the whole time. Kind of like a real family, right? And the friendship, yes, there is friendship and I love it. Actually, maybe there’s more than friendship (there is a f/f romance) They all seemed so close, all the characters were well written. I loved them and their stories as well.
  • I feel like, the whole story is about Alex finding self-acceptance. Maybe I’m looking too deep into the story but over time she changes. She begins to love and appreciate herself, her family, magic and her friends.

What I Didn’t Like

  • Sadly…the final battle. All of Labyrinth Lost was action packed but the last battle seemed a little to easy?

Overall

  • Labyrinth Lost is my favorite fantasy/paranormal young adult novel of the year. It blew me out of the water, had amazing magic and world building. I just wish the final battle was a bit tougher.

    Here’s a picture of, not necessarily the characters, but the moments in Labyrinth Lost. I wanted to capture more of the fantasy than anything else 🙂 I hope you like it!

    7 thoughts on “Labyrinth Lost Review + Moodboard!

      1. OHHHHHHH I hope you LOVE it 😀 It was a really great book, probably one of my favorite fantasy books I’ve read this year (if not of all time!) Hopefully you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂 Thank you for the comment!

        Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    