Book Discussion

The Problems, Benefits and How We Can Improve the Book Community

Hello everyone I hope you’re having an amazing day. As of events that took place on Twitter last night, I decided to write this post about the problems we seem to have in the book community and how we can fix them. This is getting out of hand and it needs to stop. There’s always some new OUTRAGE every single day. So here, let me TRY and help.

Problems

Twitter

Ah yes, lovely Twitter. A really great place to promote your blog, ideas and favorite books or just talk to others! Though lately it seems to be a place full of hate and anger (which solves nothing). Let me just say, if you say something rude to someone that you WOULDN’T say in person, don’t say it online. You don’t know the impact your words could have on someone else.

I think the same goes for that certain Anonymous twitter account. Please don’t call out people that you hate. I saw a LOT of unnecessary hate on that account because BookTubers are ‘fake,’ because they only review popular books and books they are sent. I’m pretty sure this happens because they only have so much time, and as a Bookblogger (of any kind really) it’s kind of your responsibility to read, review and promote the book you’re sent. Not everyone has time to read all the books they are sent, but this is why it happens. Another problem these people had with BookTubers were because they are white and straight. There’s nothing wrong with that. But if you want to find more diverse book bloggers they ARE out there. SUPPORT THEM, but do not hate people for who they are. Regardless of race, religion, sexual orientation, you can’t change a person.

I don’t really watch a lot of BookTube but after a quick search, here are some recommendations!

Francina Simone

Lamp Sunnies

Rincey Reads

Squibbles Reads

Twitter should be a safe place where we can all be friends and talk about the things we love, instead of tearing each other down. Now, I’m not saying that you can’t have opinions, I’m just asking you to think about what you say before you tweet. Please 🙂

ARCs

I don’t think this is as big of a problem, at least I haven’t seen it (because I don’t get a lot of print ARCs, I tend to get eARCs). But let me just say, if you’re a new blogger and haven’t received an ARC, don’t worry because these things take time. From what I understand, publishers want people who have a wide following and are established in the community. They most likely want to know that you will keep up your end of the deal. I think Edelweiss and Netgalley are a good place to start, as well as requesting books from smaller publishers, or taking requests from authors and publishers. You will get there!

That being said, I don’t think it’s right to be greedy either. Request books you think you’ll love instead of requesting every book coming out. I know some people would rather read some older published books than just ARC books. It’s good to change it up! So, please don’t worry about getting arcs 🙂

Benefits

Now there are some GREAT things about this community. Sometimes we just have a few bumps in the road. Here are some of the things I LOVE about book blogging and reading in general.

Friends

Yes, friends. I have made a few good friends in the +2 years I’ve been blogging. I’m happy we have something to bond over and we talk about everything, not just books. It’s nice to know you have someone who shares interests with you.

hug gif
I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH…Uh…back to the post

Interactions with awesome authors

Authors are such nice people who can create wonderful worlds that sweep us away from reality (most of the time :D) They deserve respect because being an author is (most likely) their dream too. It’s nice to talk to them about their books, interview them through our blog. They’re such nice people, they aren’t monsters. I LOVE THEM ALL!

You can talk about stuff you love

Blogging in general allows you to have your own space on the Internet to post about what you love. You don’t have to just blog about books, you can talk about unicorns, movies, anything. No matter what you talk about there will, most likely, be someone else who shares the same interests. It’s nice to get things off your chest, share your opinions with others.

Books for trade 😀

I know there has been some trouble with this thing on twitter. But, despite a few troublemakers, Books For Trade is a wonderful place. It’s a nice, cheap way to swap books for something you want more. Lately I’ve seen people helping each other find the books they’ve been wanting to collect for a while. It’s nice to see people come together and help one another. This should be what the book community is. Helping instead of hurting.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sure I missed a few problems and benefits. These are all my opinions, so please keep that in mind! The book community CAN be a great place, I think we just need to take action to make it better. How can we do this? By standing together to help one another and talking back to the few bullies we see. If we do this, we can make the book community a great place.

4 thoughts on “The Problems, Benefits and How We Can Improve the Book Community

  1. Twitter seems to be a battleground in the last week! Between spoiler rants and attacks on authors–it hasn’t been a fun place to be in the last little while. I seem to miss all these big incidents though and hear about them after the fact. It’s a shame people feel like they can hide behind the anonymity of the internet and say whatever they please. And I think its a problem society struggles with as a whole with social media and public internet forums.

    And good ole ARC envy–something I find very hard to do repress when ARC August is on with all the great books out there now! But I think that is something every blogger works out on their own…it just takes some time and appreciating where you are as a blogger 🙂

    Fantastic post!

    Like

    1. I know, it sure was! I think things have pretty much calmed down for now 🙂 I don’t see a lot of ARC envy but there are times when I feel it. I’d NEVER be rude to someone because they have an ARC though (I know a lot of people do the same thing 🙂 ) And it’s definitely important to appreciate what you do as a blogger 🙂 Thank you for the comment and sorry for the late response.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

