Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

The Thousandth Floor Review

5/5 stars

I am a super lucky ducky and I was able to read this book early thanks to edelweiss! This does NOT change my review in any way, shape or form 🙂

Do you know that feeling you get when you finish a SUPER good book? And you just sit there for a while, thinking about the ending, basking it the books glory but also dreading the end because IT’S OVER?!

Well yeah. The scenario above just happened to me when I finished The Thousandth Floor. I flipped to the last page in the book and sat there chewing on waffles because the ending, THE ENDING. Seriously though, The Thousandth Floor was a masterpiece. It was just… beautiful, all around fantastic. If it isn’t on your TBR, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR! It should be!

Summary from goodreads

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.
Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.
Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.
Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.
Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?
Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.
And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.
Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….

What I Liked

○ The Thousandth Floor had six different points of view, which I totally wasn’t expecting. I am a big fan of alternating POVS, but six is kind of a lot… At first, I kept getting characters mixed up, I couldn’t remember who was who and how they fit in with the main story. BUT, a major but here guys, that changes. After a while, you start to notice each character’s personalities, their life story, who they are friends with and who they don’t like. They are all VERY different, with VERY different chapters that add to the story. I LOVED each POV very much 🙂 like I said, it added to the story giving us information that is super important to the finale. I really liked Eris, Watt and her were my favorite characters. SIDE NOTE: Diversity. I don’t want to clarify because some of it is spoilers, but The Thousandth Floor did really good in the diversity part 🙂

○ The story was science fiction ish with almost realistic fiction, uh. It’s hard to explain. BUT one of the biggest things I adored about The Thousandth Floor were the science fiction elements! I loved the technology, the instant hair and makeup machines, the hover cart things and the virtual reality games. Can I live in the tower now? I LOVE IT SO MUCH!

amazing gif

○ I was lucky enough to read a sampler in the Buzz Book 2016 : Young Adult Fall/Winter sampler on NetGalley for The Thousandth Floor and I was hooked. The sampler was incredible, and the prologue in that sampler was what had me gasping out loud. THE PROLOGUE IS A TOTAL CATCHER! I swear, the beginning is fantastic and the rest of the book lived up to my expectations.

○ If you’ve read a lot of our reviews then you probably know how much I ADORE third person, because I LOVE it! SO. MUCH! The Thousandth Floor is third person 🙂

○ Katharine McGee’s debut book is TOTALLY fantastic! I kid you not, the writing was incredible, it was detailed without being overbearing and just enough to make it seem like a movie in your head and I just…I just can’t explain how amazing the writing was! SIDE NOTE: THIS IS IN DEVELOPMENT TO BE A TV SHOW APPARENTLY. A TV SHOW FOR THIS BOOK WOULD BE TOTAL PERFECTION, I KID YOU NOT!

best gif

○ The Thousandth Floor was REALLY dramatic, it was full of the typical teenage drama, boyfriends, breakups, parties and so on. But the thing is, The Thousandth Floor was also very touching. To me, it seemed to be more that a story about a girl who fell and what led up to her fall, it was about life and the struggles that we face. It was about divorce, going from rich to poor and having life turn you upside down on your head. It was about the situations life puts us through, and to me, that was super touching 🙂

○ We know that this is about a girl who died, right? Well we don’t know who died until the VERY end. There are multiple girls in this story so it could be any of them >:D but the ending had me in tears anyways…

feels gif

In a Nutshell

The Thousandth Floor was INCREDIBLE. Obviously I fell in love with it, and hopefully, you will to :). I SERIOUSLY think you should consider giving it a shot! SO! GOOD!

done gif

6 thoughts on “The Thousandth Floor Review

Leave a Reply

