Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

The Call Mini DNF Review- Messed. Up.

So. The Call…

I was lucky to read this book thanks to Miss Print’s ARC Adoption

1/5

I would gave it a five for creativity, it’s a fantasy, dystopian, horror, thriller? I’d love to see more fantasy dystopians!

Before I even start to review this, let me start off by telling you what I THOUGHT this book would be like…

The Call was most definitely NOT what I was expecting, and I’m not going to say that in a good way. I started reading The Call expecting a thriller about a girl with Cerebral Palsy who was going to be hunted to the death, a girl determined to live even though her family was pretty sure she was going to die. I was expecting a thriller with maybe a hint of magic, but not a lot… I was NOT expecting a messed up horror story.

Because this book was really, really messed up.

BUT to be fair, I didn’t see the goodreads summary, I only went by what the sampler said, which wasn’t much.

  • The Call is NOT your typical thriller. It wasn’t about a girl being hunted, it was about the human race being hunted (randomly called by the Sidhe) to be brutally killed, oh but before they kill you, they also do some seriously messed up stuff. If you’ve seen Full Metal Alchemist, this is on the level of Nina and Alexander times 10. I wont even begin to tell you what they did to the people because it was so awful, so disgusting, so incredibly DISTURBING, that I DNFed this book at page 63. When I started to read about the poor kids who get called, I nearly passed out/threw up because it is so so so so so so SO disturbing. LIKE REALLY BADLY. I can’t even begin to describe how awful/messed up it was, so I am hoping you get the point right about now.

  • This book is not for the faint of heart, which is why I DNFed it. So don’t read this book if you can’t stand human mutilation (fusion?) which will probably make you feel sick to your stomach, I recommend you avoid this book. Stay far, far away. But if you like a messed up horror, here you go.
  • The writing in this book… I can’t even explain it. I’m not hating on the author but I ADORE third person, but this was present tense third person so it was kind of strange for me to read? I’m not used to it, AT ALL. There were multiple point of views, it seemed, but it was always an abrupt change from characters. Like you’d be reading about Nessa and then in the middle of the chapter it’d be some random guy who got called then a girl and it was just weird. I am exaggerating a little bit, but you get the point, right? It changed POVs without telling you that it did, not a fan of that.

  • I didn’t like the writing in this book. Not just the POV but the style (maybe I’d like one of his other books?)…but to put my thoughts in words… The Call was really boring. It wasn’t very descriptive until the characters where called. Other than that, it was straight to the point with not a lot of details… from what I read at least.
  • The beginning was really hard to get into. It was very slow, a bit confusing and kind of info dumpy? I don’t know, I was not a fan, but it might have been the third person present tense randomly changing POVs that did it. I only read 63 ages of this until I was like NOPE.

So the short of the short: THIS ISN’T FOR THE FAINT OF HEART! THIS ISN’T FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN’T HANDLE GRAPHIC SCENES OF HUMAN… I can’t even think of the word. Just imagine something really awful, like Nina and Alexander from FMA. Trust me, it was freaky, nightmare inducing, disturbing. *shudders*

 

2 thoughts on “The Call Mini DNF Review- Messed. Up.

  1. I saw Nina and Alexander and was like “oh ew, yup, can fully picture what is going on from that”. It’s too bad that this ended up being so graphic but also simultaneous boring? It’s kind of a strange combo. But I don’t think I would be into reading about kids being spliced together so I’ll skip, thanks for the warning lol

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh, I am so glad you got the reference! But also sad, because that scene broke my heart in so many ways D’:
      It was a weird combo! I think it was the point of view that got to me the most (ignoring the very graphic/disturbing content) it would randomly change POVs to characters we’ve never heard of, and it was too choppy for me… So 😦 sadness, because I liked the premise of the characters being called. If we got rid of the super disturbing stuff it would have been a bit better (if we ignore the random POV changes). But my goodness, I have never read something so freaky, it was like my nightmares came to life and multiplied by a billion :O
      My review was practically all warning in a very hard to understand way haha XD. I’m sorry to disappoint you with my review *cries*
      Thank you for stopping by though! It means a lot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

