Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Just a Few Inches Mini Review + Moodboard! – Pun Not Intended O_O”

3/5

I was really excited to start Just a Few Inches when Tara St. Pierre came to us and asked us to review her book :). It’s always an exciting thing to help an author out in any way possible so yeah, I ended up reading Just A Few Inches in just a few days XD. I received this book for free from the author, this does NOT change my review in any way. 

Summary from goodreads.com

All Carrie Roberts wants is to be a little bit smaller.
To fit into the perfect dress for the Valentine’s Day Dance. To look beautiful for her boyfriend, the school’s star basketball player. To keep his jealous ex-girlfriend, a rival cheerleader, away from him. And to be noticed by her classmates.
Exercising and dieting don’t work, but an advertisement for weight loss pills promises a quicker solution to her problem. As time runs out, she takes more than the recommended dose until she’s just a few inches slimmer. Heads turn when she arrives at the dance, and the wonderful night with her boyfriend is beyond what she dreamed it would be.
Days later, Carrie discovers that her body is changing in ways that should be impossible. While her doctor searches for a cure, she desperately turns to her friends and family for support. Everyone is noticing her now whether she likes it or not, and even the media is intrigued by her incredible story. Getting everything she once wanted has created new problems—problems that are growing more terrifying every day.
Because Carrie Roberts is shrinking.

Sometimes when I read a book, I finish it and don’t have too much to say about it. Just a Few Inches was one of those books for me. This isn’t a bad thing! It’s not like I don’t have any thoughts on this book because it was awful, no. Just a Few Inches was NOT bad, it just didn’t blow me away, not to sound rude. The thing is, I wasn’t in a mood for a contemporary so that could be one of the reasons I didn’t like it as much. I’m a mood reader :O

NOTE: This does have some spoilers O_O” I tried to keep them away. It wont spoil the ending, I promise!

  • The writing was good. Tara St. Pierre is a great writer, I really liked the way she writes. I know I just said the same thing three times in different ways but bear with me here XD. She was descriptive but not overly so, she did a great job introducing us to all the characters and Carrie’s problem. I think the way Carrie reacted to everything was realistic, she seemed like a real person and dealt with real problems like mean girls and… shrinking which might not be so real ^_^” But you get the idea.
  • My biggest problem, or the thing I didn’t really enjoy about Just a Few Inches were the characters, they all felt the same. Everyone except for Carrie kind of had the same personality… maybe not Janelle because she was kind of awful (until the end :O). Janelle had layers, we got to see that closer to the end of the book, but everyone felt the same. Evan, Lauren, Trish, even Carrie, they all felt the same and I can’t explain it. Evan was shy, so there was that difference… I couldn’t relate to the characters either 😥 but I do think other people would be able to relate more! I’ve never been a part of drama, or cliques, or sports, I’ve never even been to a party XD
  • Another thing was, the love between MC and Evan was instant. Carrie literally just broke up with her boyfriend (who I wasn’t a fan of <_< (Evan is way better (go Carrie))) and BOOM. She ends up with Evan who apparently has liked her all along O_O”… I just don’t like instant love. ONE MORE THING ABOUT THIS: I DO think Carrie liked him while she was with her boyfriend, so I get that. I get that she liked Evan and that’s why the two of them end up together but she didn’t even seem heartbroken over breaking up with her boyfriend.
  • The ending was really sweet, and so was the message! There aren’t a lot of books that have an underlying meaning, Just a Few Inches managed to have a positive message while not being IN YOUR FACE, if that makes sense. Love yourself for who you are, only change for yourself, you are you, you rock 😀 things like that. It’s a nice, refreshing feeling finishing a book with such a happy ending. 🙂

I hope you’ll give Just a Few Inches a try 🙂 The ending, and positive message are worth it. PLUS Tara St. Pierre is an excellent writer.

pixlr_20160722144445101

When I first started this book, I NEW I had to make a moodboard for it! The feel of the book was really perfect, the message, the writing. I wanted to try to capture that in a picture to convince you to give it a try :).

2 thoughts on “Just a Few Inches Mini Review + Moodboard! – Pun Not Intended O_O”

Leave a Reply

