Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

Ready Player One Review- I Am NOT Ready *screams*

2 /5 stars

I have been literally DIEING to read Ready Player One… well Aramda mostly, but Ready Player One is going to be a movie so I bumped it up on my list so I could finish it before the movie :). Anywho, I chose this book for the Make Me Read It Readathon and it won, by a landslide. I was more than excited to start it, so I dove in and…. I’m not a fan. D:

Summary from goodreads.com

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

What I Liked

I love video game themed books! This… is….the…. only one I’ve read that is remotely video game themed so YES I was excited! I am a huge video game nerd, I play so many different kinds of games from Skyrim to Animal Crossing… I just really love the idea behind this book, the easter egg hidden inside a HUGE game. LOVE IT! I really want to play Oasis…

Also, the setting was kind of unique. It was like the world was ending but it wasn’t too far in the future. I think this book took place in 2012? Not too sure, I might be making that up but still. The setting was interesting, people were hiding themselves away in Oasis to escape the worlds growing problems.

Ready Player One was SUPER diverse, I kid you not! The characters were all adorable, all unique, and all loveable. Can I hug them? I want to hug them and never let go.

What I Didn’t Like

The biggest downer about Ready Player One was the plot, which was slow, full of info dumping and boring. Did I mention info dumping because there was a TON of that. The main character, Wade, would mention something like Dungeons and Dragons for example, and then proceed to explain every detail about D&D and then some. This would go on for pages and it just made the plot move so slow… and it also made it boring. I cannot say that enough. I was expecting lots and lots of action, not a character who has to play Pacman for six hours straight. I was expecting battles like Sword Art Online and Log Horizon but I got pages and pages of Monty Python… Ready Player One was very underwhelming, it was dry and boring and very little actually happened in this book. I’m sorry to say that :/

Fable’s Final Thoughts

Ready Player One was really disappointing to me, I think it just feel victim to the hype. Buuuuuuuuuuuut a TON of people DID LOVE Ready Player One, so I am the odd one out.

 

5 thoughts on “Ready Player One Review- I Am NOT Ready *screams*

  1. This one is on my list too. I think it came out in 2012, because a fellow librarian read it for our YA lit class in library school at that time. The pop culture references though I are meant for people born in the ’70s and ’80s, it’s not really a YA novel. But the slow moving plot and issues with the long description of the references is the biggest complaint I’ve heard. If your readers don’t get the reference, it’s not your job to explain it. In this day and age, they can look it up using Google.

    Like

  2. It sucks that you didn’t fall in love with this book! I must admit, it is probably one of my favourites EVER, but I can definitely see why it’s not everyone’s cup of tea (and how it can fall victim to hype!!).

    I’ve read ARMADA too, and I must admit, I waaaaay preferred Ready Player One. That being said, the plot is a lot quicker to get going in Armada in my opinion, so if that’s a key point for you, I’d definitely say check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

