Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Never Missing Never Found Review

4/5 stars!

Summary from goodreads.com!

A juicy thriller about a girl who returned from the missing. . . . Hand to fans of We Were Liars, Bone Gap, and Vanishing Girls.

Some choices change everything. Scarlett chose to run. And the consequences will be deadly.
 
Stolen from her family as a young girl, Scarlett was lucky enough to eventually escape her captor. Now a teen, she’s starting a summer job at an amusement park. There are cute boys, new friends, and the chance to finally have a normal life.

Her first day on the job, Scarlett is shocked to discover that a girl from the park has gone missing. Old memories come rushing back. And now as she meets her new coworkers, one of the girls seems strangely familiar. When Scarlett chose to run all those years ago, what did she set into motion? And when push comes to shove, how far will she go to uncover the truth . . . before it’s too late?

I had NO idea that Amanda Panitch (author of Damage Done) published another book, so the moment I saw it at the library I grabbed it and began reading. I really liked her other book, Damage Done, so I was very excited to start Never Missing Never Found. But after reading this book, I am not too sure how I felt about it.

 

What I Liked

I LOVE how Amanda Panitch writes! She has like this misty/mysterious way with words that is just so perfect! The mood of her writing fits the plot so well, I just ADORE IT!

Never Missing Never Found has a MAJOR PLOT TWIST! A TWIST I NEVER SAW COMING! YESSSSSSSSS! I literally gasped out loud in shock and awe and oh my gosh, it was fantastic!

I also really liked how she slowly reveals what happened when she was kidnapped. In (almost) every chapter, she gives a detail about what happened, and I really liked how it wasn’t immediately explained. The reveals made me want to read more, I HAD to know what happened.

What I Didn’t Like

My biggest problem with this book was the plot, not to sound awful. Nothing really happened in Never Missing Never Found, it was a lot of… nothing. I love love LOVE Amanda Panitch’s writing, but the plot was very slow. The thing is, this was all building up to that EXPLOSIVE ending, AND she slowly gave us clues. So I get why it was so slow paced, but at the same time, it made it hard for me to review because I DON’T HAVE MUCH TO SAY D:

There was also a romantic interest, but honestly, I wasn’t a huge fan. It didn’t seem important to the plot, not that everything has to be. It just kind of felt like it was in the way (a bit) of moving things along, I would have prefered if the book focused more on the plot than the romance… but hey, it’s the authors book, not mine.

Fable’s Final Thoughts

It’s kind of obvious that I don’t know what to say about this one :/… While I ADORE Amanda Panitch’s writing, not much happened in this one. BUT I think the slow plot is made up for in the end. I DO recommend this one 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

