Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

My Last Kiss Review

2/5

What if your last kiss was with the wrong boy?

Cassidy Haines remembers her first kiss vividly. It was on the old covered bridge the summer before her freshman year with her boyfriend of three years, Ethan Keys. But her last kiss–the one she shared with someone at her seventeenth birthday party the night she died–is a blur. Cassidy is trapped in the living world, not only mourning the loss of her human body, but left with the grim suspicion that her untimely death wasn’t a suicide as everyone assumes. She can’t remember anything from the weeks leading up to her birthday and she’s worried that she may have betrayed her boyfriend.

If Cassidy is to uncover the truth about that fateful night and make amends with the only boy she’ll ever love, she must face her past and all the decisions she made–good and bad–that led to her last kiss.

Bethany Neal’s suspenseful debut novel is about the power of first love and the haunting lies that threaten to tear it apart.

I, somehow, found out that Bethany Neal lives in Michigan. So I picked up this book so quick and decided to read it, why not support a local author? That’s exactly what I did! Originally I didn’t want to read My Last Kiss because it sounded romancey and I am NOT a romantic person. Rarely do I read romantic books, usually I just skip over those scenes xD

What I Liked:

  • The cover is super pretty, I love how it looks fragmented. The style really fits how the story was told, fragmented memories of the past and moments happening in the present.
  • I LOVED the writing. I’m not sure what I loved, exactly, but it kept me interested for a long while. It really took me away and held me there for quite a while 🙂
  • The ending had a few twists I didn’t see coming! This rarely happens to me.

What I Didn’t Like:

  • This isn’t a bad point, not really, but I don’t think the idea is the most creative. I can think of several stories that have characters that come back from the dead and have to find out what happened to them. Though, this one was different because it was the main characters last kiss. So it adds to the drama 🙂
  • Sometimes the characters reactions didn’t seem real. SPOILERS: Ethan, one of the characters who’s alive, could see the ghost of Cassidy. For a moment they’re all freaked out, then boom, everything fine. They’re okay loving each other even though one of them is dead :/ I don’t think it’d work out that way at all. END SPOILERS 

Overall:

  • I guess I don’t have much to say about My Last Kiss…I really wanted to support a local author and that was my main reason for reading it. While the writing did take me away, the characters felt a little unbelievable when it came to their reactions, and the idea wasn’t very unique.  Still I suggest giving it a try, you never know, you might like it 🙂

Do you like to read books by local authors? Have you read My Last Kiss? What where your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “My Last Kiss Review

  1. I rarely look up the authors of the books and where they are from. But I know for sure that I’m not reading much of local authors because I don’t read much of polish books, which narrows down any probability of me reading something by local author 😉

    Like

  2. This is the first I’ve heard of the book and I immediately put it on my TBR. This sounds like something I would enjoy, although I’m a bit worried on what you said about the characters’ reactions not seeming real.

    Like

Leave a Reply

