Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Leaving Review! – I Am So Underwhelmed

2/5

Six were taken. Eleven years later, five come back–with no idea of where they’ve been.

Eleven years ago, six kindergarteners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to.

Until today. Today five of those kids return. They’re sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn’t really recognize the person she’s supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, too, except they’re entirely unable to recall where they’ve been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max. He doesn’t come back. Everyone wants answers. Most of all Max’s sister Avery, who needs to find her brother–dead or alive–and isn’t buying this whole memory-loss story.

I was given a review copy for The Leaving from NetGalley, this doesn’t change my opinion! 

When I read the synopsis for The Leaving, I was SUPER excited! I love mysteries, and I loved how the book promised (more or less) to reveal the secrets behind their disappearance slowly. I looooove slow moving mysteries, oh my gosh, it makes it harder to try and figure the book out before the end because you’ll have one clue for a hundred pages then another, and another and then it all clicks!

But the thing is, The Leaving didn’t have a predictable ending, and that is kind of where it fell flat for me. More on that later.

 

What I Liked

I LOVE rotating POVs, AND third person AND The Leaving had BOTH! Yes, both and I am just so happy by that! There were three point of views, Avery, Lucas and Scarlet. I really liked Lucas and Sacrlets chapters, they were written in a really pretty way, kind of like poetry, but it’s hard to explain. But I also wasn’t a fan of these povs, see below :/

What I Didn’t Like

The ending! I am, as I always say, the Nance Drew of plots twists and “shocking” endings because they’re almost always predictable. I blame countless hours of Nancy Drew on this XD! I thought I knew how The Leaving ended but no, I didn’t, and I never would have guessed this ending. That isn’t why I wasn’t a fan of the ending, I love being shocked by interesting plot twists and all! The ending to The Leaving just felt out there. All of the evidence was pointing one way and boom, the ending felt rushed and confused because of that “out there” feeling. I’m not spoiling it, but it was just… underwhelming and anticlimactic.

Why did Avery even have a POV? Why did the author write Scarlet and Lucas’s povs but not the other three who came back from The Leaving? Avery’s chapters were boring to me, she felt totally unrelated. Scarlet and Lucas were really close so it would have been more beneficial to have a chapter from another character from The Leaving’s POV D:. I know, I know, it’s the authors choice and I respect that. I just think we would have seen more about the story if the other characters were more important.

Anticlimactic. Like I said there as a loooot of build up but it felt like it lacked a climax.

I still have so many questions! The Leaving didn’t answer much, it left a lot to the imagination. I’m not going to state my questions because it might spoil something.

Fable’s Final Thoughts

I am VERY disappointed in The Leaving. I was expecting shocking twists and turns but it ended up feeling flat and anticlimactic. I REALLY loved the writing style, and the plot was totally fast paced. My major issue was the ending, there was buildup but no follow through :/ . I hope you like this one more than I did.

 

2 thoughts on “The Leaving Review! – I Am So Underwhelmed

  1. I’m really excited for this one ever since I first heard of it and unfortunately, I haven’t gotten around to picking it up yet. I agree with you about how amazing the synopsis sounds, it was what drew me in to the book. I’m a huge fan of mysteries because of countless hours of Nancy Drew as well! I’m sorry you didn’t like this one.

    Like

  2. awww I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this one. I was also really interested about learning about their disappearance, but the ending doesn’t sound satisfying and I hate when too many questions are left unanswered. Thanks for the honest review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

