Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

With Malice Review! – Uhhhhhh…. No…. Comment….

1/5 Stars

Barnes and Nobles was having a huuuuuge, awesomeeeee SALE, a 3 for $10 YA book sale, every book apart of the sale was only $10 so of COURSE I had to buy some! I was more than excited to read With Malice when it came in the mail so I jumped at my chance and cracked the book open right away. What promised to be an edge of your seat thriller ended up being pretty boring. For a book that I gave 1 star, is it surprising that I didn’t like a lot about it D:? No? Ok.

What I Didn’t Like

My biggest problem with mysteries, is that they are really predictable. That’s right I said it, I’m like the Nancy Drew of YA mystery in the sense that I tend to almost always guess the “plot twist” even before I read the book. Here’s the deal, I guessed the plot twist in this book BEFORE I even read it. I am so incredibly upset about that! This mystery was a piece of cake, there was only one minor thing I didn’t guess (because it was pretty random) and that was that. (WHICH IS SO DISAPPOINTING! She didn’t remember six weeks of time but I managed to piece it together really quickly?!)

bored face gif

Another thing that made this book really boring to me, where the characters. I was expecting drama, tears, heartbreak, and all I got was a girl who, by the end of the book, still didn’t have much personality. No offense to the author and not to sound harsh of course, but she wasn’t a very interesting character. She was smart, and willing to please, this isn’t what made her boring though. No, she was boring because the whole entire book was spent with her repeating the same things over and over. “I didn’t kill Simone. I wouldn’t kill Simone, we were best friends, we were like sisters,” and so on and so forth. But that pretty much sums it up 😦

There was no drama in here, no thrills or twists. It was all pretty… boring. Jill spent her time in the hospital going to rehab and trying to remember things, she made a friend, avoided the paparazzi annnnnd… that…. was…. it. I am incredibly disappointed bu the set of “edge of your seat thrills” this book promised but didn’t actually, you know, thrill >:|

waiting for action gif

Fable’s Final Thoughts

A loooooooooooooooooooooot of people really liked this book, so maybe if you read it, you’ll enjoy it better than I did. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood, or something, but With Malice was a very dry read that didn’t hook me, at all.  I feel like a total ranting jerk right now and I’m not trying to be, but this is the most disappointing book I’ve read this year.

2 thoughts on “With Malice Review! – Uhhhhhh…. No…. Comment….

  1. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I was so excited to read With Malice 😦 But after reading your review, I’m definitely reconsidering this. I hate it when mysteries get ridiculously predictable. Although I normally don’t figure out the plot twist, I’m certainly not going to read a book with no drama ;D Thanks for the review!

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh I am so so so so sorry ;n;! Ok, so the thing is, I HATE this book, sorry but it is so so true. BUUUUUT I keep seeing reviewers who loved it, they said it was thrilling, and a fantastic book… most people loved With Malice, so I am the odd one out on this book… If you want to read it, I can send you my copy 🙂 I don’t want it XD. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

