Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

A Study in Charlotte (Why Have I Not Read This Sooner?) Review

5/5

This year has been a terrible year for books when it comes to the ones I’ve read. Nothing has really stuck with me or wowed me in anyway. I think I’m in a terrible book slump I can’t escape from, or something. Even though it’s been hard for me to read (for some reason I just CAN’T focus lately) I did read A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro.

I must confess, I have not read any of the Sherlock books or seen the movie, I know it’s terrible. But what I have seen is the incredible BBC Sherlock TV series which I love with all my heart (and wish the nest season was out, like yesterday). I really miss BBC Sherlock, wait for me while I shed a tear 😥

dont cry

Anyways…

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other. -Goodreads.com

What I Liked:

  • Like I said, this has been a terrible year for me and reading. We just haven’t gotten along all that well. But A Study in Charlotte was definitely one of my favorites this year. While it was hard for me to focus, when I read in pure silence I could enjoy every single word I read. I’m glad I stuck with it to the end.
  • One of my favorite parts was the character relationships. Charlotte and Jamie were perfect together. They fought, had good times, they were like real friends (in my opinion). I really enjoyed the time they were together in A Study in Charlotte. Their relationship in this novel might be my favorite one of all time. I think it’s different than a lot of different novels. Plus no love triangle, well…not really 🙂 Plus they seemed real to me too.
  • Even though the characters were related to Sherlock and Watson they were still their own selves. If that makes sense. Jamie was a bit like Watson but different in his own ways. As was Charlotte. I liked how I could see their heritage in them but they still remained an individual.

sherlcok2

  • THE COVER IS BEAUTIFUL! I wish there was more vibrancy/saturation but I love intensely bright colors (like NEON!) Anyways, I loved this cover how it was, there’s a lot to look at but it isn’t overbearing at all.
  • My favorite part had to be the epilogue. I’m not going to spoil it but it was really well done. If I remember correctly I was trying to hold back a smile so my sister wouldn’t judge me xD

Overall:

  • A Study in Charlotte is one of the more memorable reads I’ve had this year. Watson and Holmes were amazing in A Study in Charlotte, I’m glad I read it and didn’t skip over it. I can’t wait to see where they go next!

5/5

9 thoughts on “A Study in Charlotte (Why Have I Not Read This Sooner?) Review

  1. I loved this one too. Read it as soon as it came in at work. I can’t wait for the next one to come out. Epic Reads had it in their latest cover reveal post. It centers on the school break the spend together in London. I laughed at this one, felt Jamie’s horror when he thought Charlotte was dead, and loved how they outsmarted their opponent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

