Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

A Fierce And Subtle Poison Mini Review- Wasn’t Very Fierce, but Definitely Subtle

2/5

When I saw this book, it was instant cover love, look at ALL the shades of green and subtle pink and red, AND THE TEXT. Oh my gosh I am a font nut and I just looooove the font.

Summary from goodreads

Everyone knows the legends about the cursed girl–Isabel, the one the señoras whisper about. They say she has green skin and grass for hair, and she feeds on the poisonous plants that fill her family’s Caribbean island garden. Some say she can grant wishes; some say her touch can kill.

Seventeen-year-old Lucas lives on the mainland most of the year but spends summers with his hotel-developer father in Puerto Rico. He’s grown up hearing stories about the cursed girl, and he wants to believe in Isabel and her magic. When letters from Isabel begin mysteriously appearing in his room the same day his new girlfriend disappears, Lucas turns to Isabel for answers–and finds himself lured into her strange and enchanted world. But time is running out for the girl filled with poison, and the more entangled Lucas becomes with Isabel, the less certain he is of escaping with his own life.

And that summary! The summary made me fall in love and I KNEW I had to read this book ASAP! But sadly, I didn’t fall in love, I fell into confusion because do I like this book or not? SO MINI REVIEW!

  • A Fierce and Subtle Poison is probably the most diverse book I’ve read so far. The book takes place in Puerto Rico, not California, not Chicago and certainly not New York which is SUCH a nice change. I’m not bashing those three places but let’s be real here, they are used all the time as settings in YA and it is definitely a nice refresher to see a book out of those three options. Aside from the book being in Puerto Rico, the main characters mom is from the Dominican Republic and all of the other characters besides Lucas’ dad, the Scientist and Lucas were all from Puerto Rico. This book had a TON of Spanish, I don’t speak Spanish! I’m learning Japanese and German and one thing that was a bit upsetting is the fact that the author didn’t translate or explain the Spanish all the time! I mean you can figure it out but I really wish that she explained it :P! So diversity was a big part of this book…

yay gif

  • BUUUUUUUUT I didn’t like the characters. They were all rough around the edge kids with tough guy stances and didn’t care about drinking and stuff. Not that this isn’t ok in YA, but they all felt the same, that’s what I’m getting at here. Even Isabel felt the same overused character, and it got kind of repetitive after a while. But I liked Isabel and that’s about it….

boring gif

 

  • I nearly DNFed this book because the beginning was so incredibly slow. I couldn’t get into it! It starts off with the main character, Lucas and his friends picking up girls, which was important to the book because he meet Marisol but really, it didn’t hook me. Reluctantly, I forced myself to keep reading and I did end up enjoying the… maybe last 25%? Near the ending, the book really picks up pace and things get moving quickly O_O. Some crazy stuff happens in the end (even if it was pretty predictable to me)….
  • I wasn’t a fan of this writing! I don’t typically say that, but the writing did make it hard for me to get into it. There wasn’t a lot of detail, it felt like a skeleton that needed more, but I’m not trying to bash ok!? I’m just giving my opinion here, I think if it were longer and more was explained it would have been better to me.
  • ALSO I loved the idea of a girl with poison inside of her, with green skin and grass for hair. I loved the story behind her mom, behind the Scientist and how he meet her mom. The thing is, I think that would have been a good story on it’s own sooooo, I am seriously hoping for it.

In a Nutshell

I know this review might be kind of rambly and weird but I can’t process my thoughts on this one! I don’t think I liked it. I didn’t like it… I’m just going to say it. I like the idea but not the book itself. 😦

 

 

Leave a Reply

